You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

PGA To Honor Don Mischer with 2012 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television

PGA To Honor Don Mischer with 2012 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television

The Producers Guild of America will honor Don Mischer with their 2012 Norman Lear Achievement Award in Television, marking the first time the award has been given to a live-event producer. Mischer will accept the award at the annual Producers Guild Awards on January 21 at the Beverly Hilton Hotel. Mischer is directing and producing the Oscar telecast again this year, this time with producing partner Brett Ratner.

Mischer’s “ability to consistently deliver live event productions of the highest caliber is unmatched in this industry,” according to PGA co-chairs Paula Wagner and Michael Manheim. Other winners include last year’s Tom Hanks and Gary Goetzman, Dick Wolf, Jerry Bruckheimer, John Wells, Lorne Michaels, Bud Yorkin, Carsey-Werner-Mandabach, David L. Wolper, Don Hewitt, Garry K. Marshall, Aaron Spelling, Steven Bochco, David E. Kelley, Mark Burnett and Norman Lear.

Mischer’s credits are below.

Mischer is an internationally acclaimed producer and director of television and live events. His credits range from We Are One: The Obama Inaugural Celebration at the Lincoln Memorial, The Kennedy Center Honors, and the 100th Anniversary of Carnegie Hall; to Super Bowl Halftime Shows (Michael Jackson, Prince, The Rolling Stones, Paul McCartney and Bruce Springsteen), the Democratic National Convention, events celebrating Hong Kong’s re-unification with China, and the Opening Ceremonies of both the Winter and Summer Olympic Games. Mischer has produced specials with Beyoncé, Bono, Jennifer Hudson, Rihanna, Britney Spears, James Taylor, Taylor Swift, Stevie Wonder, Sting, Garth Brooks, Mary J. Blige, Elton John, Justin Timberlake, Barbra Streisand, The Black Eyed Peas and Carrie Underwood, among others.


Mischer has received the Governors Award from the National Association of Choreographers and is a member of the Event Industry Hall of Fame, the Directors Guild of America, and the National Academy of Television, Arts, and Sciences, where he has served two terms on the Board of Governors. He has been honored with fifteen Emmy Awards, a record ten Directors Guild of America Awards for Outstanding Directorial Achievement, two NAACP Image Awards, a Peabody Award for excellence in broadcasting, and Europe’s prestigious Golden Rose of Montreux.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox