Back to IndieWire

Updated: “Arbor,” “Dragonslayer,” “Senna” and “Project Nim” Among the 2012 Cinema Eye Nominees

Updated: "Arbor," "Dragonslayer," "Senna" and "Project Nim" Among the 2012 Cinema Eye Nominees

The Cinema Eye Honors unveiled its nominations for the fifth annual awards show spotlighting non-fiction with six films competing for the CEH’s Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking prize. Included are Clio Barnard’s “The Arbor,” Steve James’ “The Interrupters,” Patricio Guzmán’s “Nostalgia for the Light,” Leonard Retel Helmrich’s “Position Among the Stars,” James Marsh’s “Project Nim” and Asif Kapadia’s “Senna.”

33 films from 12 countries are among this year’s picks.

Seven films received four nominations each, the highest total for this year’s group. Among them are “The Arbor,” Tristan Patterson’s “Dragonslayer,” Danfung Dennis’ “Hell and Back Again,” “The Interrupters,” “Nostalgia for the Light,” “Position Among the Stars” and “Senna.”

Winners of the 5th Annual Cinema Eye Honors will be announced on January 11, 2012 as Cinema Eye returns for a second year to New York City’s Museum of the Moving Image in Astoria, Queens.

The list of 2012 Cinema Eye Honors nominations follows.

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Feature Filmmaking:

“The Arbor,” Directed by Clio Barnard, Produced by Tracy O’Riordan
“Senna,” Directed by Asif Kapadia; Produced by James Gay-Rees, Tim Bevan and Eric Fellner
“Project Nim,” Directed by James Marsh, Produced by Simon Chinn
“Position Among the Stars,” Directed by Leonard Retel Helmrich, Produced by Hetty Naaijkens-Retel Helmrich
“Nostalgia for the Light,” Directed by Patricio Guzmán, Produced by Renate Sachse
“The Interrupters,” Directed by Steve James, Produced by Alex Kotlowitz and Steve James

Outstanding Achievement in Direction:

Clio Barnard for “The Arbor”
Leonard Retel Helmrich for “Position Among the Stars”
Patricio Guzmán for “Nostalgia for the Light”
Steve James for “The Interrupters”
Danfung Dennis for “Hell and Back Again”

Outstanding Achievement in Production:

Erik Nelson and Adrienne Ciuffo for “Cave of Forgotten Dreams”
Renate Sachse for “Nostalgia for the Light”
Mike Lerner for “Hell and Back Again”
Steve James and Alex Kotlowitz for “The Interrupters”
Gian-Piero Ringel and Wim Wenders for “Pina”

Outstanding Achievement in Cinematography:

Alma Har’el for “Bombay Beach”
Eric Koretz for “Dragonslayer”
Danfung Dennis for “Hell and Back Again”
Katell Dijan for “Nostalgia for the Light”
Leonard Retel Helmrich and Ismail Fahmi Lubish for “Position Among the Stars”

Outstanding Achievement in Editing:

Gregers Sall and Chris King for “Senna”
Jasper Naaijkens for “Position Among the Stars”
Joe Walker for “Life in a Day”
Jennifer Tiexiera and Lizzy Calhoun for “Dragonslayer”
Hanna Lejonqvist SFK & Göran Hugo Olsson for “The Black Power Mix Tape 1967 – 1975”

Outstanding Achievement in Graphic Design and Animation:

Rob Feng and Jeremy Landman for “Tabloid”
Raynor Pettge for “Shut Up Little Man! An Audio Misadventure”
Kinda Akash for “Project Nim”
Brent Green for “Gravity Was Everywhere Back Then”
Mike Nicholson and Allison Moore for “Better This World”
Justin Barber and Ryland Jones for “!Women Art Revolution”

Outstanding Achievement in Original Music Score:

Harry Escott and Molly Nyman for “The Arbor”
John Kusiak for “Tabloid”
Antonio Pinto for “Senna”
T. Griffin for “Dragonslayer”
Ernst Reijseger for “Cave of Forgotten Dreams”

Outstanding Achievement in a Debut Feature Film:

“The Arbor,” Directed by Clio Barnard
“Hell and Back Again,” Directed by Danfung Dennis
“Dragonslayer,” Directed by Tristan Patterson
“Bombay Beach,” Directed by Alma Har’el
“At the Edge of Russia,” Directed by Michal Marczak

Spotlight Award:

“The Tiniest Place,” Directed by Tatiana Huezo Sánchez
“Scenes of a Crime,” Directed by Blue Hadaegh and Grover Babcock
“The Pruitt-Igoe Myth,” Directed by Chad Friedrichs
“Last Days Here,” Directed by Don Argott and Demien Fenton
“Family Instinct,” Directed by Andris Gauja

Audience Choice Prize:

“Tabloid,” Directed by Errol Morris
“Senna,” Directed by Asif Kapadia
“Project Nim,” Directed by James Marsh
“Justin Bieber: Never Say Never,” Directed by Jon M. Chu
“The Interrupters,” Directed by Steve James
“Give Up Tomorrow,” Directed by Michael Collins
“Cave of Forgotten Dreams,” Directed by Werner Herzog
“Buck,” Directed by Cindy Meehl
“The Black Power Mix Tape 1967 – 1975,” Directed by Göran Hugo Olsson
“Bill Cunningham New York,” Directed by Richard Press

Outstanding Achievement in Nonfiction Short Filmmaking:

“This Chair is Not Me,” Directed by Andy Taylor Smth
“Out of Reach,” Directed by Jakub Stożek
“Minka,” Directed by Davina Pardo
“Diary,” Directed by Tim Hetherington
“Il Capo,” Directed by Yuri Ancarani

[Editor’s Note: Outstanding Achievement in Production was amended since the list was first published Wednesday evening EDT.]

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox