Back to IndieWire

Latino Film Takes Spotlight with 2nd Cinema Tropical Awards

2nd Cinema Tropical Noms Unveiled

Cinema Tropical unveiled its nominations for the 2nd annual Cinema Tropical Awards, spotlighting Latin American film. Contenders will compete in Best Feature Film, Bes Documentary Film, Best Director (feature film), Best Director (documentary film) and Best First Film categories.

The Cinema Tropical Awards will tke place Thursday, December 1st at the New York Times headquarters in New York City. Nominations for the honors were selected by a six-member jury panel from a list of Latin American feature films of a minimum of 60 minutes in length that were premiered between January 1, 2010 and March 31, 2011. The list was culled by a nominating committee composed of “15 film professionals from Latin America, the U.S. and Europe,” the organization said.

The Cinema Tropical Awards are presented by Cinelatino and Dish LATINO, and sponsored by The Lift.

The 2nd annual Cinema Tropical Awards nominations with information and credits provided by the organization.

Best Feature Film:
“Año Bisiesto”(Leap Year) – Michael Rowe, Mexico, 2010
“Los Labios” (The Lips) – Iván Fund and Santiago Loza, Argentina, 2010
“La Mirada Invisible” (The Invisible Eye) – Diego Lerman, Argentina/France/Spain, 2010
“Octubre” (October) – Daniel and Diego Vega, Peru, 2010
“Post Mortem” – Pablo Larraín, Chile/Germany/Mexico, 2010

Best Director, Feature Film:
Michael Rowe, “Año Bisiesto” (Leap Year) – Mexico, 2010
Diego Lerman, “La Mirada Invisible” (The Invisible Eye) – Argentina/France/Spain, 2010
Daniel and Diego Vega, “Octubre” (October) – Peru, 2010
Pablo Larraín, “Post Mortem” – Chile/Germany/Mexico, 2010
Nicolás Pereda, “Verano de Goliat” (Summer of Goliath) – Mexico/Canada/Netherlands, 2010

Best Documentary Film:
“El Ambulante” (The Peddler) – Eduardo de la Serna, Lucas Marcheggiano and Adriana Yurcovich, Argentina, 2010
“Cuchillo de Palo” (108) – Renate Costa, Paraguay/Spain, 2010
“El Lugar Más Pequeño” (The Tiniest Place) – Tatiana Huezo, Mexico, 2011
“Nostalgia de Luz” (Nostalgia for the Light) – Patricio Guzmán, Chile/France/Germany, 2010
“El Velador” – Natalia Almada, Mexico/USA, 2011

Best Director, Documentary Film:
Renate Costa, “Cuchillo de Palo” (108) – Paraguay/Spain, 2010
Tatiana Huezo, “El Lugar Más Pequeño” (The Tiniest Place) – Mexico, 2011
Patricio Guzmán, “Nostalgia de Luz” (Nostalgia for the Light) – Chile/France/Germany, 2010
Rodrigo Siqueira, “Terra Deu, Terra Come” (The Earth Giveth, The Earth Taken) – Brazil, 2010
Natalia Almada, “El Velador” – Natalia Almada, Mexico/USA, 2011

Best First Film:
“Abel,” Diego Luna, Mexico, 2010
“Año Bisiesto” (Leap Year), Michael Rowe, Mexico, 2010
“El Lugar Más Pequeño” (The Tiniest Place), Tatiana Huezo, Mexico, 2011
“Octubre” (October), Daniel and Diego Vega, Peru, 2010
“Rompecabezas” (Puzzle), Natalia Smirnoff, Argentina/France, 2010

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox