You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Samuel Goldwyn Foundation Reveals Winners for 56th Screenwriting Awards

Samuel Goldwyn Foundation Reveals Winners for 56th Screenwriting Awards

Winners of the 56th Samuel Goldwyn Writing Awards were announced Wednesday evening. The honors annually recognize “excellence in dramatic writing.” Samuel Goldwyn Jr., President of The Samuel Goldwyn Foundation revealed the winners.

Judging this year’s contenders were producer and 2010 Oscar-nominee David Hoberman; writer/director/producer and five time Oscar-nominee Paul Mazursky; and writer/producer and former Goldwyn Award winner, Melanie Marnich.

Styled by the foundation as “an entree to a successful writing career,” the Goldwyn Award has also been won by veteran screenwriters and directors as: Allison Anders, Francis Ford Coppola, Pamela Gray, Colin Higgins, Eric Roth and novelist Jonathan Kellerman.

Commented Samuel Goldwyn, Jr. in a statement: “We are very proud of this award and the extraordinary body of work produced by our former winners.”

The Goldwyn Awards carry prizes of $15,000 for first place, $7,500 for second place, $4,000 for third place, $2,000 for honorable mention.

This year’s winners:

First Place: Robin Rudenberg, UCLA for “Reckoning”

Second Place: Devin Fearn, UCLA for “Wendigo”

Third Place (tie): Amy Aniobi, UCLA for “Blame Candy”

Third Place (tie): Georgia Lin Sundling, UCLA for “The Long Short Drop”

Honorable Mention: Cameron Lund, UCSB for “Practice Makes Perfect”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Toolkit and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox