Back to IndieWire

“The ABCs of Death” Selects Its 26th (And Last) Director

"The ABCs of Death" Selects Its 26th (And Last) Director

Back in May, we reported on the ambitious Drafthouse Films, Timpson Films and Magnet Releasing joint project, “The ABCs of Death,” a 26 chapter horror anthology feature, featuring segments directed by a team of established filmmakers (like Ben Wheatley, Ti West and Jason Eisener) and one lucky newcomer. After holding a contest to find a hot new talent, the 26th contributor has been chosen. The addition is newcomer Lee Hardcastle, whose short, “T is for Toilet,” beat out 170 other submissions to be included in the project.

For “The ABCs of Death,” each director was assigned a letter of the alphabet. “T is for Toilet” is a claymation short that tells the nightmarish tale of a young frightened boy and his first attempt at using the bathroom by himself. Check it out below:

Runners up were:

  • 2nd Place: “T is for Talk,” by Peter Haynes
  • 3rd Place: “T is for Turbo,” by Francois Simard, Anouk Whissel and Yoann-Karl Whissel
  • 4th Place: “T is for Table,” by Shane Free
  • 5th Place: “T is for Termite,” by Steve Daniels

The above finalists will be invited to be included in the DVD/Blu-ray release of the project. “The ABCs of Death” will be released through Magnet Releasing in 2012. For more information go here.

Below are the other 25 filmmakers taking part:

  • Kaare Andrews (“Altitude”)
  • Angela Bettis (“Roman”)
  • Ernesto Diaz Espinoza (“Mirageman,” “Mandrill”)
  • Jason Eisener (“Hobo With A Shotgun”)
  • Bruno Forzani and Héléne (“Amer”)
  • Adrian Garcia Bogliano (“Cold Sweat”)
  • Xavier Gens (“Frontiers,” “Hitman”)
  • Noburo Iguchi (“Machine Girl,” “Robo Geisha”)
  • Thomas Malling (“Norwegian Ninja”)
  • Yoshihiro Nishimura (“Tokyo Gore Police,” “Frankenstein Girl Vs. Vampire Girl”)
  • JT Petty (“Soft For Digging,” “The Burrowers”)
  • Banjong Pisanthanakun (“Shutter,” “Alone”)
  • Simon Rumley (“The Living and the Dead;” “Red, White and Blue”)
  • Marcel Sarmiento (“DeadGirl”)
  • Chris Smith (“Severance,” “Triangle”)
  • Srdjan Spasojevic (“A Serbian Film”)
  • Timo Tjahjanto (“Macabre”)
  • Andrew Traucki (“The Reef,” “Black Water”)
  • Nacho Vigalondo (“TimeCrimes”)
  • Jake West (“Doghouse,” “Evil Aliens”)
  • Ti West (“House of the Devil,” “The Innkeepers”)
  • Ben Wheatley (“Down Terrace,” “Kill List”)
  • Adam Wingard (“Pop Skull,” “A Horrible Way to Die”)
  • Anders Wulffmorgenthaler (“Princess”)
  • Yudai Yamaguchi (“Yakuza Weapon,” “Battlefield Baseball”)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox