You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

‘Young Adult’ Soundtrack Goes ’90s Alt-Rock Heavy, Features Lemonheads, Teenage Fanclub, Dinosaur Jr. & Arrives December 6

‘Young Adult’ Soundtrack Goes '90s Alt-Rock Heavy, Arrives December 6

Details of the “Young Adult” soundtrack have arrived. Jason Reitman‘s follow-up to “Up In The Air,” his fourth feature centers on a damaged and divorced young adult fiction writer (Charlize Theron) who returns to her home in small-town Minnesota, looking to rekindle a romance with her ex-boyfriend, who is now married with kids. But one of the themes of the movie is being stuck in the past, not being able to outshine your glory days in high school and thus the soundtrack to the film is replete with 1990s-created alt-rock cuts.

Due December 6th via Rhino Records, the fifteen-track disc features the Replacements, the Lemonheads, Dinosaur Jr., Teenage Fanclub (“The Concept” is arguably the theme of the film, played several times), Cracker, 4 Non Blondes and Veruca Salt. There’s also a Diana Ross song, a Suicidal Tendencies track (a song played by Patton Oswalt‘s character) and a score by Rolfe Kent, who has composed the music to all of Reitman’s films thus far except for “Juno.”

Something that’s admittedly really subtle and almost unrecognizable in the film is “Juno” composer Mateo Messina‘s instrumental take on five alt-rock songs from the late ’80s and ’90s too: Faith No More‘s “Epic,” Pearl Jam‘s “Even Flow,” Beck‘s “Where It’s At,” the Foo Fighters‘ “Big Me” and “Black Hole Sun” by Soundgarden.  Written by Diablo Cody, “Young Adult” stars Charlize Theron, Patton Oswalt, Patrick Wilson, Elizabeth Reaser and Colette Wolf. The film is due in theaters on December 9th in limited release and then expands on December 16th.

“Young Adult” soundtrack tracklist
1. When We Grow Up – Diana Ross
2. What’s Up – 4 Non Blondes
3. Achin’ To Be – The Replacements
4. It’s A Shame About Ray (Remastered Album Version) – Lemonheads
5. Seether – Veruca Salt
6. The Concept – Teenage Fanclub
7. Pledge Your Allegiance – Suicidal Tendencies
8. Feel The Pain (2007 Remastered LP Version) – Dinosaur Jr.
9. Low – Cracker
10. Why Buddy? – Rolfe Kent
11. Epic – Mateo Messina
12. Even Flow – Mateo Messina
13. Where It’s At – Mateo Messina
14. Big Me – Mateo Messina
15. Black Hole Sun – Mateo Messina
[Amazon via Film Music Reporter]

Listen to the album below.


Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox