Back to IndieWire

All The Songs In ‘We Bought A Zoo’ (Yes, That Was Temple Of The Dog You Heard)

All The Songs In 'We Bought A Zoo' (Yes, That Was Temple Of The Dog You Heard)

While audiences seemed cool on the idea of Matt Damon hanging out with a bunch of animals in “We Bought A Zoo” (Vulture has a few pretty good theories on why that happened) they’ve been missing out a movie that has more heart than you might expect, and keeps the twee factor surprisingly dialed down. And being a Cameron Crowe film, he can’t help but curate yet another mostly solid selection of songs, though it’s not without a couple of headscratching choices.

The Uncool has dropped the full list of songs that appear in the film, and some very familiar names are among the rost. Crowe continues to root through his vinyl collection from back in the day, picking up tunes from Bob Dylan, Cat Stevens and Neil Young, while also showing some soul with tunes from The Upsetters and Otis Rush. But the director also has a big alternative rock heart (for better or worse) and one of the film’s most jarring and misguided musical moments comes from the pretty random inclusion of Temple Of The Dog‘s “Hunger Strike.” Oh, the ’90s. Rounded out by a handful of new tunes by Jonsi, overall, it isn’t a bad selection but not his best by some stretch (but it does serve as a reminder of how good those Wilco & Billy Bragg records were).

Check out the full list below. “We Bought A Zoo” is in theaters now.

“Don’t Come Around Here No More” – Tom Petty
“Do It Clean” – Echo & The Bunnymen
“Airline To Heaven” – Wilco
“Don’t Be Shy” – Cat Stevens
“Go Do” – jónsi
“Living With The Law” – Chris Whitley
“Last Medicine Dance” – Mike McCready
“Buckets of Rain” – Bob Dylan
“No Soy Del Valle” – Quantic Presenta Flowering Inferno
“Sinking Friendships” – jónsi
“Like I Told You” – Acetone
“Ashley Collective” – Mike McCready
“For A Few Dollars More” – The Upsetters
“Hunger Strike” – Temple Of The Dog
“Ævin Endar” – jónsi
“Mariachi El Bronx” – Mariachi El Bronx
“Haleakala Sunset” – CKsquared
“Boy Lilikoi” – jónsi
“Cinnamon Girl” (Live) – Neil Young
“Holocene” – Bon Iver
“Throwing Arrows” – Mike McCready
“Work To Do” – The Isley Brothers
“All Your Love (I Miss Loving)” – Otis Rush
“I Think It’s Going To Rain Today” – Randy Newman
“Hoppípolla” – Sigur Rós
“Gathering Stories” – jónsi

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox