Back to IndieWire

European Film Awards – Live Saturday 2pm EST from Berlin

European Film Awards - Live Saturday 2pm EST from Berlin

The European Film Awards will screen live on Indiewire this Saturday beginning at 8pm local time (2pm EST/11am PST) from Berlin, Germany.

Lars von Trier’s “Melancholia” leads the pack of nominees, which were announced November 5, with eight nominations including best film, director, screenplay and a double nominations for best actress with Kirsten Dunst and Charlotte Gainsbourg.

In the top category the film is joined by Tom Hooper’s “The King’s Speech,” Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne’s “The Kid With The Bike,” Michel Hazanavicius’s “The Artist,” Aki Kaurismaeki’s “Le Havre,”  and von Trier’s fellow Dane Susanne Bier’s “In a Better World.”

The full list of Nominees for the 2011 Euopean Film Awards:

European Film 2011

“The Artist,” France
Written and directed by: Michel Hazanavicius; Produced by: Thomas Langmann & Emmanuel Montamat

“Le Gamin Au Velo” (The Kid with a Bike), Belgium/France/Italy
Written and directed by: Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne; Produced by: Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne, Denis Freyd & Andrea Occhipinti

“Haevnen” (In a Better World), Denmark
Directed by: Susanne Bier
Written by: Anders Thomas Jensen; Produced by: Sisse Graum Jorgensen

“The King’s Speech,” UK
Directed by: Tom Hooper
Written by: David Seidler; Poduced by: Iain Canning, Emile Sherman, Gareth Unwin

“Le Havre,” Finland/France/Germany
Written and directed by: Aki Kaurismaeki; Produced by: Aki Kaurismaeki & Karl Baumgartner

“Melancholia,” Denmark/Sweden/France/Germany
Written and directed by: Lars von Trier; Produced by: Meta Louise Foldager & Louise Vesth

European Director 2011

Susanne Bier for “Haevnen” (In a Better World)
Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne for “Le Gamin Au Velo” (The Kid with a Bike)
Aki Kaurismaeki for “Le Havrre”
Bela Tarr for “A Torinoi Lo” (The Turin Horse)
Lars von Trier for “Melancholia”

European Actress 2011:

Kirsten Dunst in “Melancholia”
Cecile de France in “Le Gamin Au Velo” (The Kid with a Bike)
Charlotte Gainsbourg in “Melancholia”
Nadezhda Markina in “Elena”
Tilda Swinton in “We Need to Talk About Kevin”

European Actor 2011:

Jean Dujardin in “The Artist”
Colin Firth in “The King’s Speech”
Mikael Persbrandt in “Haevnen” (In a Better World)        
Michel Piccoli in “Habemus Papam”  
Andre Wilms in “Le Havre”

European Screenwriter 2011:

Jean-Pierre & Luc Dardenne for “Le Gamin Au Velo” (The Kid with a Bike)        
Anders Thomas Jensen for “Haevnen” (In a Better World)
Aki Kaurismaeki for “Le Havre”
Lars von Trier for “Melancholia”

Carlo Di Palma European Cinematographer Award 2011:

Manuel Alberto Claro for “Melancholia”
Fred Kelemen for “A Torinoi Lo” (The Turin Horse)
Guillaume Schiffman for “The Artist”
Adam Sikora for “Essential Killing”

European Film Editor 2011:

Tariq Anwar for “The King’s Speech”
Mathilde Bonnefoy for “Drei” (Three)
Molly Malene Stensgaard for “Melancholia”

European Production Designer 2011:

Paola Bizzarri for “Habemus Papam”   
Antxon Gomez for “La Piel Que Habito” (The Skin I Live in)
Jette Lehmann for “Melancholia”

European Composer 2011:

Ludovic Bource for “The Artist
Alexandre Desplat for “The King’s Speech”
Alberto Iglesias for “La Piel Que Habito” (The Skin I Live in)
Mihaly Vig for “A Torinoi Lo” (The Turin Horse)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged