Back to IndieWire

“Beasts of the Southern Wild’ and ‘The House I Live In’ Top Sundance Film Festival Winners

"Beasts of the Southern Wild' and 'The House I Live In' Top Sundance Film Festival Winners

The 2012 Sundance Film Festival have announced its juried and audience awards tonight at a ceremony in Park City, Utah.

Benh Zeitlin’s “Beasts of the Southern Wild” and Eugene Jarecki’s “The House I Live In” won the grand jury prizes in the U.S. competitions, while Andres Wood’s “Violeta Went To Heaven” and Ra’anan Alexandrowicz’s “The Law in These Parts” won the world grand jury prizes.

Indiewire has a full list of winners below:

Grand Jury Prize, Dramatic:
“Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Grand Jury Prize, Documentary:
“The House I Live In”

World Cinema Jury Prize, Dramatic:
“Violeta Went To Heaven”

World Cinema Jury Prize, Documentary:
“The Law In These Parts”

Dramatic Audience Award:
“The Surrogate”

Documentary Audience Award:
“The Invisible War”

World Cinema Dramatic Audience Award:
“Valley of Saints”

World Cinema Documentary Audience Award:
“Searching For Sugar Man”

The Best of NEXT Audience Award:
“Sleepwalk With Me”

Directing Award, Dramatic:
Ava DuVernay, “Middle of Nowhere”

Directing Award, Documentary:
Lauren Greenfield, “The Queen of Versailles”

World Cinema Directing Award, Dramatic:
Mads Matthiessen, “Teddy Bear”

World Cinema Directing Award, Documentary:
Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi, “5 Broken Cameras”

Waldo Scott Screenwriting Award:
“Safety Not Guaranteed”

World Cinema Screenwriting Award:
“Young & Wild”

Documentary Editing Award:

World Cinema Documentary Editing Award:
“Indie Game: The Movie”

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
“Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Excellence in Cinematography Award, Documentary:
“Chasing Ice”

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Dramatic:
“My Brother The Devil”

World Cinema Cinematography Award, Documentary:
“Putin’s Kiss”

Special Jury Prize: Dramatic (Acting):
The cast of “The Surrogate”

Special Jury Prize: Dramatic:
Jonathan Schwartz and Andrea Sperling for producing “Smashed” and “Nobody Walks”

Special Jury Prizes: Documentary:
“Love Free or Die”
“Ai Weiwei: Never Sorry”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Documentary
“Searching For Sugar Man”

World Cinema Special Jury Prize: Dramatic

Alfred P. Sloan Prizes
“Robot & Frank”
“Valley of Saints”

Sundance/NHK International Filmmakers Award:
Jens Assur, “Close Far Away”

Short Film Audience Award:
“The Debutante Hunters,” directed by Maria White

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox