Back to IndieWire

Four Women Producers Included in List for PGA’s Top Honor – Kathleen Kennedy Nominated for Two Awards

Four Women Producers Included in List for PGA's Top Honor - Kathleen Kennedy Nominated for Two Awards

The Producer’s Guild of America announced their nominees for top awards yesterday and four women are included on the list for the top honor which is the Darryl F. Zanuck Producer Of The Year Award In Theatrical Motion Pictures.

Here are some things I noticed:

Kathleen Kennedy is nominated for both best feature (War Horse) and best animated feature (The Adventures of Tin Tin).

Kung Fu Panda 2 was produced by a single woman – Melissa Cobb (as was Cars 2) so that means that film is directed and produced by a woman and the film is the top grossing female directed film of the year.

The women are:

The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo – Producers: Ceán Chaffin, Scott Rudin
Midnight In Paris – Producers: Letty Aronson, Stephen Tenenbaum
Moneyball – Producers: Michael De Luca, Rachael Horovitz, Brad Pitt
War Horse – Producers: Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg

The were a bunch of women centric films nominated including Bridesmaids and The Help but surprisingly, neither of those have a female producer.

It is also important to note that there are many women nominated as producer in the animated category.

The Adventures of Tintin – Producers: Peter Jackson, Kathleen Kennedy, Steven Spielberg
Cars 2 – Producer: Denise Ream
Kung Fu Panda 2 – Producer: Melissa Cobb
Puss In Boots – Producers: Joe M. Aguilar, Latifa Ouaou

The other female nominees:

The David L. Wolper Producer Of The Year Award In Long-Form Television:
Cinema Verite (HBO)
Producers: Zanne Devine, Karyn Mccarthy
Mildred Pierce (HBO)
Producers: Todd Haynes, Pamela Koffler, Ilene S. Landress, Christine Vachon
Too Big To Fail (HBO)
Producers: Carol Fenelon, Jeffrey Levine, Paula Weinstein

The Producers Guild Of America Producer Of The Year Award In Documentary Theatrical Motion Pictures:
The Union
Producers: Cameron Crowe, Michelle Panek
The Danny Thomas Award For Outstanding Producer Of Episodic Television, Comedy:
30 Rock (NBC)
Producers: Robert Carlock, Tina Fey, Marci Klein, Jerry Kupfer, Lorne Michaels, David Miner, Jeff Richmond, John Riggi, Don Scardino
The Big Bang Theory (CBS)
Producers:  Chuck Lorre, Steve Molaro, Faye Oshima, Bill Prady
Parks And Recreation (NBC)
Producers: Greg Daniels, Dan Goor, Howard Klein, Amy Poehler, Morgan Sackett, Michael Schur

The Norman Felton Award For Outstanding Producer Of Episodic Television, Drama:
Dexter (Showtime)
Producers: Sara Colleton, John Goldwyn, Chip Johannessen, Robert Lloyd Lewis
Game Of Thrones (HBO)
Producers: David Benioff, Frank Doelger, Mark Huffam, Carolyn Strauss, D.B. Weiss

The Good Wife (CBS)
Producers: Brooke Kennedy, Michelle King, Robert King, Ridley Scott, Tony Scott, David W. Zucker

Mad Men (AMC)
Producers: Jonathan Abrahams, Scott Hornbacher, Andre Jacquemetton, Maria Jacquemetton, Blake Mccormick, Dwayne Shattuck, Dahvi Waller, Matthew Weiner
The Award For Outstanding Producer Of Live Entertainment & Talk Television:
The Colbert Report (Comedy Central)
Producers: Meredith Bennett, Stephen T. Colbert, Richard Dahm, Tanya Michnevich Bracco, Tom Purcell, Jon Stewart (*Additional Producers Eligibility Pending Arbitration Completion)
The Ellen Degeneres Show (Syndicated)
Producers: Mary Connelly, Ellen Degeneres, Melissa Geiger Schrift, Ed Glavin, Andy Lassner,Kevin A. Leman Ii, Jonathan Norman, Derek Westervelt
Real Time With Bill Maher (HBO)
Producers: Scott Carter, Sheila Griffiths, Marc Gurvitz, Dean Johnsen, Bill Maher, Billy Martin
The Award For Outstanding Producer Of Competition Television:
The Amazing Race (CBS)
Producers: Jerry Bruckheimer, Elise Doganieri, Jonathan Littman, Bertram Van Munster, Mark Vertullo
American Idol (Fox)
Producers: Charles Boyd, Cecile Frot-Coutaz, Simon Fuller, Patrick Lynn, Nigel Lythgoe, Megan Michaels, Ken Warwick
Dancing With The Stars (ABC)
Producers: Ashley Edens Shaffer, Conrad Green, Joe Sungkur, Rob Wade
Project Runway (Lifetime)
Producers: Jane Cha Cutler, Desiree Gruber, Tim Gunn, Heidi Klum, Jonathan Murray, Sara Rea, Colleen Sands
Top Chef (Bravo)
Producers: Daniel Cutforth, Casey Kriley, Jane Lipsitz, Dan Murphy, Nan Strait            
The Award For Outstanding Producer Of Non-Fiction Television:
American Masters (PBS)
Producers: Susan Lacy, Julie Sacks

Anthony Bourdain: No Reservations (Travel Channel)
Producers: Christopher Collins, Julie Lei, Lydia Tenaglia, Tom Vitale

Deadliest Catch (Discovery Channel)
Producers: Thom Beers, Jeff Conroy, John Gray, Sheila Mccormack, Ethan Prochnik, Bill Pruitt, Matt Renner

Undercover Boss (CBS)
Producers: Chris Carlson, Susan Hoenig, Eli Holzman, Sandi Johnson, Stephen Lambert, Allison schermerhorn

Producers Guild Nominates 10 Movies From ‘The Artist’ to ‘War Horse’ (Hollywood Reporter)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , ,