Back to IndieWire

Happy International Women’s Day: Women in Film and TV (UK) Releases 2012 Power List

Happy International Women's Day: Women in Film and TV (UK) Releases 2012 Power List

Women in Film and Television (UK) partnered with Screen International and Broadcast have released the 2012 Women in Film and Television Power List.   Here’s a quote from the head of Women in Film Kate Kinninmont about the list (the quote is from the release)

We at WFTV are very aware that women are still too few in important media jobs, worse paid in many roles and too easily pushed out of the industry as they age.

But we also see the fantastic progress that women are making and we are keen to celebrate it. There are fifty extraordinary women on this Power List. Every one of them has earned her place through talent, hard work, perseverance and sheer dogged ability. We salute them all.

Here’s the list:


Elaine Bedell, director of comedy and entertainment ITV

Jana Bennett, president of worldwide networks and global iPlayer, BBC Worldwide

Amanda Berry, chief executive officer, Bafta

Helen Boaden, director, BBC News

Barbara Broccoli, producer, EON Productions

Dinah Caine, chief executive officer, Skillset

Eileen Gallagher, chief executive, Shed Productions

Sara Geater, chief executive officer, Freemantle Media UK

Janice Hadlow, controller, BBC2

Jay Hunt, chief creative officer, C4

Christine Langan, creative director, BBC Films

Lucy Lumsden, head of comedy, Sky

Laura Mackie, director of drama, ITV

Elisabeth Murdoch founder & chief executive, Shine Group

Amanda Nevill, chief executive officer, BFI

Denise O’Donaghue, managing director, ITV Studios

Jane Root, chief executive, Nutopia

Tessa Ross, controller, Film 4 and C4 Drama

Lisbeth Savill, head of Film & TV, Olswang

Caroline Thomson chief operating officer, BBC

Sophie Turner Laing, managing director of Entertainment & News, Sky

Producers/ directors

Andrea Arnold, film director – Wuthering Heights

Vanessa Berlowitz, series producer, Frozen Planet, BBC Natural History Unit

SJ Clarkson, TV director – Dexter Finola Dwyer Film Producer – Quartet (post-production)

Debra Hayward, film producer, founder — Monumental Pictures

Elizabeth Karlsen, film producer – Great Expectations, Byzantium (both in post-production)

Phyllida Lloyd, film director – The Iron Lady

Alison Owen Producer (Ruby Films) – Jane Eyre Nira Park Producer (Big Talk Productions) – Attack the Block

Norma Percy, TV documentary producer – Putin, Russia and the West

Lynne Ramsay, film director – We Need to Talk About Kevin

Moira Ross, TV producer – Head of Entertainment, Wall to Wall

Nicola Shindler, founder (Red Productions), executive producer – Scott and Bailey, Exile, Bedlam

Sue Vertue, producer (Hartswood Films) — Sherlock


Helena Bonham Carter, actress

Alex Crawford, Sky News correspondent

Naomie Harris, actress

Miranda Hart, actress/performer

Keira Knightley, actress

Carey Mulligan, actress

Sue Perkins, TV presenter

Dame Maggie Smith, actress

Tilda Swinton, actress

Kirsty Wark, journalist/ TV presenter

Kate Winslet, actress


Moira Buffini, writer – Jane Eyre, Byzantium (post-production)

Jane Goldman, writer – The Woman in Black

Abi Morgan, writer – Shame, The Iron Lady

Heidi Thomas, writer – Upstairs Downstairs

One question? Where’s Emma Thompson?

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , ,