You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Soundtrack Details For Snoop Dogg/Wiz Khalifa Stoner Comedy ‘Mac And Devin Go to High School’; Anchor Bay Picks Up Film

Soundtrack Details For Snoop Dogg/Wiz Khalifa Stoner Comedy 'Mac And Devin Go to High School'; Anchor Bay Picks Up Film

Beginning with “Half Baked” in 1998, and moving on to supporting roles in “The Wash,” “Starsky & Hutch” and “Training Day,” hip-hop mogul/herb enthusiast Snoop Dogg has made a second name for himself in film and TV, and news comes today that rapper Wiz Khalifa has joined forces with Snoop on a new comedy.

Mac And Devin Go To High School,” directed by music video helmer Dylan Brown, has been acquired by Anchor Bay Films for release. The film stars Dogg and Khalifa as the titular characters, and follows Devin (Khalifa) as a high-school whiz-kid turned anxious over the thought of his valedictorian speech, and his lack of real-life experience to justify it. Enter Mac (Dogg), a senior entering his 15th school year, who sets out to show Devin what he’s been missing. Just a guess, but weed might possibly factor in as one of those life lessons.

The soundtrack details to the film (via PopSugar) confirm this posit, as songs such as “Smokin On,” “French Inhale” and the wonderfully-titled “You Can Put It In a Zag, I’mma Put It in a Blunt” all make an appearance. With the 12-song album, both rappers seem to follow the Watch The Throne model, as Snoop and Khalifa alternate verses, and guest stars such as Bruno Mars and Mike Posner add their styling on individual tracks.

While the soundtrack has been out since December, the film itself has been waiting on a distribution deal up until recently, when Anchor Bay stepped in. The film seems lighter than paper in terms of content, even with the insanely inspired casting of Snoop as a high-schooler, but fans of both artists should come away happy with the result. Let’s hope at least the comedic elements have something for the rest of us.

“Mac and Devin Go To High School” will be released later this year. Full soundtrack details and some tunes below.

“Mac And Devin Go to High School” Soundtrack Track List

1. “Smokin’ On” feat. Juicy J
2. “I Get Lifted”
3. “You Can Put It in a Zag, I’mma Put It in a Blunt”
4. “6:30”
5. “Talent Show”
6. “Let’s Go Study”
7. “Young, Wild & Free” feat. Bruno Mars
8. “OG” feat. Curren$y
9. “French Inhale” feat. Mike Posner
10. “It Could Be Easy”
11. “World Class”
12. “That Good”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox