Back to IndieWire

Take A Look At The Picture-Disc Vinyl For The Reissue Of ‘This Must Be The Place’ Soundtrack

Take A Look At The Picture-Disc Vinyl For The Reissue Of 'This Must Be The Place' Soundtrack

While we wait for The Weinstein Company to decide when they will release Paolo Sorrentino‘s oddball roadtrip/Holocaust drama/revenge movie “This Must Be The Place,” starring Sean Penn as a burned out, eccentric rocker, the movie is gearing up to hit U.K. cinemas this weekend. And not only that, the soundtrack — which is already on CD overseas —  is getting a new, sexy, double LP, picture-disc reissue. Not bad, right?

Though the film itself has had an uneven reception to say the least, the soundtrack boasts some pretty incredible names. Talking Heads frontman David Byrne and indie folk/country troubadour Will Oldham teamed with Irish singer-songwriter Michael Brunnock, and calling their outfit The Pieces Of Shit, the trio deliver five new songs: “Lay & Love” (a Bonnie “Prince” Billy cover), “Open Up,” “Eliza,” “If It Falls It Falls” and “The Sword Is Yours.” Also featured are two versions of the title track: a live take by Byrne and a cover by Trevor Green. “Happiness” by Jónsi & Alex and Iggy Pop‘s “The Passenger” help to round things out.

The Vinyl Factory are presenting the new issue with some lovely artwork, including the slabs of wax you see below. This will cost you though: 30 UK pounds or nearly $50 to own Sean Penn’s face on 12″ of acetate. The album is available for pre-order now and will hit record shops wherever they still exist on April 23rd. Tracklist and artwork below.

“This Must Be The Place” Soundtrack Tracklist

Side A
1. Gavin Friday ‘Lord I’m Coming’
2. The Pieces Of Shit ‘Lay & Love’
3. The Pieces Of Shit ‘Open Up’
4. Mantonvanni & His Orchestra ‘Charmaine’

Side B
1. Daniel Hope, Simon Mulligan ‘Arvo Part: Spiegel Im Spiegel’
2. Trevor Green ‘This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)’
3. David Byrne ‘This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody) Live’

Side C
1. Julia Kent ‘Gardemoen’
2. Jonsi & Alex ‘Happiness’
3. The Pieces Of Shit ‘Eliza’
4. Iggy Pop ‘The Passenger’
5. The Pieces Of Shit ‘You Can Live It’

Side D
1. Brooklyn Rider ‘Achille’s Heel – Il Second Bounce’
2. The Pieces Of Shit ‘If It Falls, It Falls’
3. Gloria ‘This Must Be The Place (Naive Melody)’
4. Nuno Bruno E Le 8 Tracce ‘Every Single Moment In My Life Is A Weary Wait’
5. The Pieces Of Shit ‘The Sword Is Yours’

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox