Back to IndieWire

Watch: Robert Pattinson Woos Christina Ricci In Clip ‘Bel Ami’ Plus New Pics From The Film & Take A Listen To The Score

Watch: Robert Pattinson Woos Christina Ricci In Clip 'Bel Ami' Plus New Pics From The Film & Take A Listen To The Score

If the graphic violence, giant rats, and seizure-inducing imagery of “Cosmopolis” dissuaded you from the film’s otherwise compelling look at sex and politics, then perhaps Robert Pattinson‘s period drama “Bel Ami” is more up your alley. A new clip and soundtrack details have hit the web, and they both certainly share some similarities, believe it or not.

The clip from the Guy de Maupassant adaptation, features a shirtless Pattinson alongside a similarly nude Christina Ricci as they discuss a letter from his past. It’s all very snappy and playful, pushing toward that mix of delicate wit and eroticism that Patrice Leconte‘s “Ridicule” achieved admirably, and this new film seems a pleasure to watch as well (though our reviewer at the Berlin Film Festival wasn’t quite as enamored). Pattinson plays George Duroy, an entrepreneur in 19th century Paris who rises from poverty to riches on account of his quick mind and good looks, and finds the “beau monde” elite a group where sex remains a political maneuver on equal ground with discussion.

Christina Ricci plays Clotilde de Marelle, one of Pattinson’s many lovers, and she joins a supporting cast that includes Uma Thurman, Kristen Scott Thomas, and Colm Meaney. The soundtrack comes courtesy of Lakshman Joseph De Saram, working along with Rachel Portman on the score. Portman did a fantastic job bringing the right atmosphere to Mark Romanek‘s film “Never Let Me Go,” and you can hear a taste of what she brings to the period drama below. Also, a handful of new stills have arrived as well, which you can look at too.

The soundtrack is in stores now and the film, directed by Declan Donnellan & Nick Ormerod, will be VOD-available on May 4th before opening in select cities on June 8th. [MTV/Lyelyebye/Kinopoisk]

“Bel Ami” Soundtrack Tracklist

1. Bel Ami (1:54)
2. Poverty (2:23)
3. Whose Arms Are These? (1:29)
4. Georges Meets Madeleine / I like Being A Journalist (1:07)
5. Love Nest (1:37)
6. Beggar / Charles Is Dying (3:11)
7. She Won’t Be A Widow For Long (1:24)
8. A More Memorable Name (2:28)
9. Charles Dies (2:06)
10. Clotilde (1:46)
11. A Fool (2:56)
12. La Vie FranÇaise / Celebration (1:41)
13. Betrayal / Virginie Submits (3:32)
14. Madeleine (2:30)
15. Head Of Gossip / La Vie FranÇaise (1:54)
16. The Man I Have Lost (1:26)
17. You Disgust Me (1:24)
18. Rousset’s Party (2:15)
19. Drunken Montage (1:14)
20. Suzanne’s Entrance (1:12)
21. Palm House (1:48)
22. Georges Elopes With Suzanne (1:48)
23. It’s Not Enough To Be Loved / The Wedding / Bel Ami Reprise (5:06)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox