Back to IndieWire

‘People Like Us’ Soundtrack Features A New Liz Phair Song Penned For The Film + Poster & New Photo

'People Like Us' Soundtrack Features A New Liz Phair Song Penned For The Film + Poster & New Photo

For a guy that seems to like to blow shit up real good when he’s putting pen to paper or keyboard to Final Draft, (“Cowboys & Aliens,” “Transformers: Revenge of the Fallen,” “Star Trek,” “Mission: Impossible III“) Alex Kurtzman really appears to be going out of his way to make himself an antidote for that work with his directorial debut.

Titled “People Like Us,” the family drama centers on a man who is tasked with delivering $150,000 of his deceased father’s fortune to the sister he has never met. Starring Chris Pine, Elizabeth Banks, Olivia Wilde, Michelle Pfeiffer, Michael Hall D’Addario with support by Philip Baker Hall, Jon Favreau and Mark Duplass, all one needs to do is take a quick look at the campaign to see that the film is chasing a very different audience than his previous fanboy driven efforts (see the recent promos aimed at Mother’s Day).

A new poster, featurette, image and details of the soundtrack have arrived. While Academy-Award-winnning composer A.R. Rahman (“Slumdog Millionaire“) wrote the score, perhaps the most interesting musical item of note is the film’s closing credits song that was written by candid indie-rocker turned glossy L.A. musician Liz Phair.

“The song ‘Dotted Line’ I wrote with A. R. Rahman for Alex Kurtzman’s film ‘Welcome To People’ [film],” she said in an interview last year. “Both amazing. ‘Welcome To People’ is a truly powerful film. Very proud of being part of it.” Due in theaters June 29, the soundtrack hits via Lakeshore Records a week before on June 19th and you can listen to Phair’s song below.  The new featurette is below as well or you can watch it at Apple. And while Wilde hasn’t centered in the trailers of much, a new image with her and Pine arrives via MTV.

“People Like Us” (Original Motion Picture Soundtrack) –  Various Artists

01. People Like Us – A.R. Rahman
02. New York To L.A. – A.R. Rahman
03. Dad’s Studio – A.R. Rahman
04. Dad’s Shaving Kit – A.R. Rahman
05. Following Frankie – A.R. Rahman
06. Frankie’s Burning Desire – A.R. Rahman
07. Beat the Living – A.R. Rahman
08. Welcome to People – A.R. Rahman
09. Mom – A.R. Rahman
10. Tacos – A.R. Rahman
11. Discount Prom Dress – A.R. Rahman
12. Airport Adventures – Michael ‘Nomad’ Ripoll
13. Six Rules – A.R. Rahman
14. Breakfast for Mom / Just Be People – A.R. Rahman
15. Crab Drumming / Finding Sam – A.R. Rahman
16. I Am Your Brother – A.R. Rahman
17. Family Pictures – A.R. Rahman
18. Dotted Line – Liz Phair

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox