Back to IndieWire

Soundtrack For ‘Something From Nothing: The Art Of Rap’ Features Nas, Wu-Tang Clan, Public Enemy & More

Soundtrack For 'Something From Nothing: The Art Of Rap' Features Nas, Wu-Tang Clan, Public Enemy & More

Music fans, rest assured. Tom Cruise, a bunch of garish costumes and set design, and the hair metal tunes from “Rock Of Ages” won’t be your only option this weekend at the movies. For those looking for a more satisfying musical outing, head to your local arthouse for “Something From Nothing: The Art Of Rap,” a documentary that explores the birth of hip hop and how it has turned into a global phenomenon.

Premiering earlier this year at the Sundance Film Festival, the film is co-directed by Ice-T and Andy Baybutt (“The Band Aid Story“) and takes an in-depth look at the craft of rhyming, with interviews from some of the biggest stars in rap, including Afrika Bambaataa, Grandmaster Caz, Nas, Mos Def, Eminem, Chuck D, KRS-One, Run-DMC, Dr. Dre, Ice Cube and Snoop Dogg. And not only that, it’s a great soundtrack to boot. Boastings artists like Nas, Wu-Tang Clan, Public Enemy, KRS-One, Run DMC and more, the movie is veritable mix tape of hip hop history mixing classic cuts and live performances.

The soundtrack will hit digital outlets on June 12th, with the film opening in limited release on June 15th. Check out the full tracklisting below. [Sacramento Bee]

“Something From Nothing: The Art Of Rap” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Ice – T – Freestyle (Live Acapella)
2. N.W.A – Straight Outta Compton
3. RUN-DMC – Sucker M.C.’s (Krush-Groove 1)
4. Eric B. & Rakim – Follow The Leader
5. KRS One – Freestyle (Live Acapella)
6. Big Daddy Kane – Raw
7. Nas – The World Is Yours
8. Gang Starr – Full Clip
9. Immortal Technique – New Jack Hustler (Live Acapella)
10. Wu-Tang Clan – As High As Wu-Tang Get
11. Das EFX – Real Hip-Hop
12. Melle Mel – Freestyle (Live Acapella)
13. Schoolly D – P.S.K. ‘What Does It Mean’?
14. Ultramagnetic MC’s – Ego Trippin’
15. Ras Kass – Bentleys & Bitches (Live Acapella)
16. Mantronix – King Of The Beats
17. Rob Base & DJ EZ Rock – It Takes Two
18. Afrika Bambaataa & The Soul Sonic Force – Don’t Stop… Planet Rock
19. Lord Jamar – The Kid Magic (Live Acapella)
20. Q-Tip – Vivrant Thing (Club Mix)
21. MC Lyte – Cold Rock A Party
22. Public Enemy – Harder Than You Think…Just Like That
23. Grandmaster Caz – The Art of Rap (Live Acapella)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox