You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

TV Critics Organizations Roll Out Their Nominees

TV Critics Organizations Roll Out Their Nominees

The Critics Choice Television Awards and the Televisions Critics Association have both released their list of nominees.  It is clear that the critics in both organizations love Downtown Abbey, Homeland, Breaking Bad, New Girl and Girls.

The Critics Choice Awards will be handed out in LA on June 18.  It is for shows aired between June 1, 2011, and May 31, 2012.   The female nominees (these are not the shows that star women, just the shows where women are the creators or showrunners):  Full list of nominees.

Best Drama Series
The Good Wife – CBS
Best Actress in a Drama Series
Claire Danes – Homeland – Showtime
Michelle Dockery – Downton Abbey – PBS
Julianna Margulies – The Good Wife – CBS
Elisabeth Moss – Mad Men – AMC
Emmy Rossum – Shameless – Showtime
Katey Sagal – Sons of Anarchy – FX
Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
Christine Baranski – The Good Wife – CBS
Anna Gunn – Breaking Bad – AMC
Christina Hendricks – Mad Men – AMC
Regina King – Southland – TNT
Kelly Macdonald – Boardwalk Empire – HBO
Maggie Siff – Sons of Anarchy – FX
Best Talk Show
The View — ABC
Best Comedy Series
Girls – HBO
New Girl – FOX

Best Actress in a Comedy Series
Zooey Deschanel – New Girl – FOX
Lena Dunham – Girls – HBO
Julia Louis Dreyfus – Veep – HBO
Martha Plimpton – Raising Hope – FOX
Amy Poehler – Parks and Recreation – NBC
Ashley Rickards – Awkward – MTV
Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy
Julie Bowen – Modern Family – ABC
Alison Brie – Community – NBC
Cheryl Hines – Suburgatory – ABC
Gillian Jacobs – Community – NBC
Eden Sher – The Middle – ABC
Casey Wilson – Happy Endings – ABC
Best Guest Performer in a Comedy Series
Becky Ann Baker – Girls – HBO
Kathryn Hahn – Parks and Recreation – NBC
Best Actress in a Movie/Miniseries
Jessica Lange – American Horror Story – FX
Gillian Anderson – Great Expectations – PBS
Julianne Moore – Game Change – HBO
Patricia Clarkson – Five – Lifetime
Lara Pulver – Sherlock – PBS
Emily Watson – Appropriate Adult – Sundance

The Television Critics Association will give out its awards on July 28th.  What’s interesting about these awards is that they are not separated by gender and lo and behold women have been nominated in the comedy category.

Individual Achievement in Drama

Claire Danes (“Homeland,” Showtime)
Jessica Lange (“American Horror Story,” FX)

Individual Achievement in Comedy

Lena Dunham (“Girls,” HBO)
Julia Louis-Dreyfus (“Veep,” HBO)
Amy Poehler (“Parks and Recreation,” NBC)

Outstanding Achievement in News and Information

“The Rachel Maddow Show” (MSNBC)

Outstanding New Program

“Girls” (HBO)
“New Girl” (Fox)
“Smash” (NBC)

Full list of nominees here.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , , , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox