Back to IndieWire

Academy Elects New Members of Board of Governors; Who Will Be Next AMPAS President?

Academy Elects New Members of Board of Governors; Who Will Be Next AMPAS President?

The Board of Governors of the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences really runs the place. They’re the ones in charge who represent 15 branches of the Academy, three Governors for 14 branches, who may serve up to three consecutive terms. Each branch elects or reelects one governor each year. The Makeup Artists and Hairstylists Branch is represented by a single governor.

Next up on the first Tuesday this August: selecting a replacement for outgoing AMPAS president Tom Sherak, who is not seeking a fourth year as president because he’s played out his nine-year tenure as a Governor. PGA chief Hawk Koch, who only has one year left as a Governor, producer Gale Anne Hurd, and filmmaker Phil Robinson are among the likely candidates. New Governor Dick Cook, the ex-Disney chairman, would make an excellent president, as would returning producer Kathleen Kennedy, but she will have her hands full running LucasFilm.  (Available time is always an issue.) The new president needs to gain more than 50% of the votes from 43 Governors.

Since Sherak joined the Academy in 2009, he and new Academy CEO Dawn Hudson have closed an agreement to keep the Academy Awards show on ABC through 2020; kept the Oscars in Hollywood at the renamed Dolby Theater for 20 more years; and pursued an Academy motion picture museum at the Los Angeles County Museum of Art. He also oversaw the hiring of Brett Ratner and Eddie Murphy to produce and host the Oscar show, respectively, which backfired; producer Brian Grazer and returning host Billy Crystal saved the day, with viewership up 4% and over 39 million people watching the show that Sunday.

The new board members are Dante Spinotti, representing the Cinematographers branch; Lisa Cholodenko, Directors branch, (completing two years of filling stepped-down Paul Mazursky’s term); John Knoll, Visual Effects; Scott Millan, Sound and Bill Condon, Writers. The Governors also returned seven incumbents and brought back three former Governors for another stint on the board. They include Michael Mann, Directors, and Arthur Hamilton, Music.

The reelected governors are Tom Hanks, Actors; Jim Bissell, Designers; Rob Epstein, Documentary; Mark Goldblatt, Film Editors; Leonard Engelman, Makeup and Hairstylists; Rob Friedman, Public Relations and Bill Kroyer; Short Films & Feature Animation.

Governors who were not up for reelection and who continue on the Board are Ed Begley, Jr. and Annette Bening, Actors Branch; John Bailey and Richard Crudo, Cinematographers; Rosemary Brandenburg and Jeffrey Kurland, Designers; Kathryn Bigelow, Directors; Michael Apted and Michael Moore, Documentary; Jim Gianopulos and Robert Rehme, Executives; Anne V. Coates and Michael Tronick, Film Editors; Charles Fox and David L. Newman, Music; Gale Anne Hurd and Hawk Koch, Producers; Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Marvin Levy, Public Relations; Jon Bloom and John Lasseter, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer and Don Hall, Sound; Craig Barron and Richard Edlund, Visual Effects; and Frank Pierson and Phil Robinson, Writers.

(The latest interview with Hudson is here.)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox