You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Lisa Cholodenko And Kathleen Kennedy Elected to Academy’s Board of Governors

Lisa Cholodenko And Kathleen Kennedy Elected to Academy's Board of Governors

Yesterday, the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences elected new members to the board of governors. There are two new members, director Lisa Cholodenko and producer Kathleen Kennedy.  Kathleen Kennedy has previously been on the board and Cholodenko is a first time board member elected to the remaining two years of Paul Mazursky’s term.

Unfortunately these numbers aren’t surprising when looking at the bigger picture of the members on the board of governors. A staggering 35 men are members while only 8 members are women.

Cholodenko will represent the directors branch alongside Kathryn Bigelow, director of The Hurt Locker. While this is a great achievement, it is also deeply ironic considering only 4 women have been nominated for Best Director in the history of the Academy Awards—Lina Wertmüller (1976), Jane Campion (1993), Sofia Coppola (2003) and Kathryn Bigelow, who won in 2009, the sole woman to ever win the award.  But this could help get more women nominated for best director, because it is the individual branch that picks the nominees.

The board meets again July 31st to a president for the next year.

Here is a list of the women members:

Kathleen Kennedy, Gale Anne Hurd—Producers Branch

Annette Bening—Actors Branch

Rosemary Brandenburg—Designers

Kathryn Bigelow, Lisa Cholodenko—Directors

Anne V. Coates—Film Editor

Cheryl Boone Issacs—Public Relations

Former Disney Chief Dick Cook, ‘Twilight’ Director Bill Condon Join Academy’s Board of Governors (The Hollywood Reporter)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox