Back to IndieWire

‘Frankenweenie’ Soundtrack Features New Song By Karen O Along With Tunes From Robert Smith, Winona Ryder, Passion Pit & More

'Frankenweenie' Soundtrack Features New Song By Karen O Along With Tunes From Robert Smith, Winona Ryder, Passion Pit & More

While she has definitely earned her stripes as the frontwoman for the acclaimed rock band Yeah Yeah Yeahs, Karen O has also been making some impressive steps in the movie soundtrack world. She memorably contributed a brace of music to Spike Jonze‘s excellent “Where The Wild Things Are,” and last year howled on the cover version of Led Zeppelin‘s “Immigrant Song” for David Fincher‘s “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo.” But now she’s moving back toward something for kids, contributing “Strange Love,” a brand new song, to Tim Burton‘s ghoulish “Frankenweenie.” And she’s not the only interesting choice on the soundtrack.

Get your iPods ready, because the 14-song collection of music from and inspired by the movie will also feature The Cure frontman Robert Smith (naturally), pop enthusiasts Passion Pit, one-hit-wonders Plain White Ts, professional weirdos The Flaming Lips backing Grace Potter, and perhaps most awesome of all, Winona Ryder crooning “Praise Be New Holland.” All told, a pretty decent bunch of artists, and we hope the project will find everyone playing with their sound as much as Karen O did. “My music inspiration came out of the same era of B movie fright film references sprinkled throughout the film. I went in the direction of exotica and calypso stylistically because it’s quirky, good vibes music of that era and when you throw in a theramin solo it’s a marriage made in heaven,” she said. “I remember ‘Beetlejuice‘ introducing me to the genius of Harry Belafonte’s calypso record so I wanted to give a nod to that too.”

“Frankenweenie Unleashed” will hit stores on September 25th, with the movie opening October 5th. Full tracklist below. 

“Frankenweenie Unleashed” Tracklisting

“Strange Love” – Karen O
“Electric Heart (Stay Forever)” – Neon Trees
“Polartropic (You Don’t Understand Me)” – Mark Foster
“Almost There” – Passion Pit
“Pet Sematary” – Plain White T’s
“With My Hands – Kimbra
“Everybody’s Got a Secret” – AWOLNATION
“Immortal” – Kerli
“My Mechanical Friend” – Grace Potter featuring The Flaming Lips
“Lost Cause” – Imagine Dragons
“Underground” – Grouplove
“Building a Monster” – Skylar Grey
“Witchcraft” – Robert Smith
“Praise Be New Holland” – Winona Ryder
Only You – Taylor Momsen & The Pretty Reckless (Bonus Track)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox