Back to IndieWire

The Adrienne Shelly Foundation Announces 2012 Grant Recipients

The Adrienne Shelly Foundation Announces 2012 Grant Recipients

The Adrienne Shelly Foundation announced their five new grant recipients for 2012. The five grants are awarded in conjunction with other organizations/ institutions including: Columbia University, Boston University, Tribeca All Access, Women in Film Finishing Fund and the American Film Institute.  The grants are given to women filmmakers to support their careers and artistic vision as well as furthering the legacy that actor, writer and director Adrienne Shelly left behind.

The Adrienne Shelly Foundation is a non-profit organization created after Shelly’s tragic death in 2006. The foundation supports female filmmakers through grants and scholarships and has awarded over thirty grants to female filmmakers worldwide since its inception in January 2007.

Executive director and founder, Andy Ostroy (and Adrienne’s husband)  announced this year’s recipients, saying:

Each year we set out to find talented, committed women filmmakers who possess a similar passion, spirit and vision for which Adrienne was known. This year’s recipients perfectly embody the values and vision of ASF and we couldn’t be more proud to shine a spotlight on the exceptional work that they’ve done.

Here’s the list of 2012 Adrienne Shelly Foundation Grant Recipients:

Natasha Johns-Messenger –Best Female Director Award for Blackwood (Columbia University)

Anika Poitier – Production Grant for Black Irish (AFI)

Kim Rideout – Production Grant for The Dog House (Boston University)

Rose Troche – Filmmaker Grant for Xanadu (Tribeca All-Access)

Christina Eliopoulos – Foundation Grant for Demon on Wheels (Women in Film Finishing Fund)

The Adrienne Shelly Foundation Announces Five New 2012 Grant Recipients (Market Watch)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,