Back to IndieWire

‘Silver Linings’ and ‘Laurence Anyways’ Top Toronto Film Festival Winners

'Silver Linings' and 'Laurence Anyways' Top Toronto Film Festival Winners

David O. Russell’s “Silver Linings Playbook” won the Blackberry People’s Choice Award at this year’s Toronto International Film Festival.

Previous winners of the fest’s most notable prize include “The King’s Speech,” “Slumdog Millionaire” and “Precious,” and the award has generally been a considerable good luck charm for Oscar.

“Linings” beat out Ben Affleck’s “Argo” and Eran Riklis’s “Zaytoun,” which were runners-up in the category.

Xavier Dolan’s “Laurence Anyways” won the festival’s top juried prize for Best Canadian Feature. This comes four years after Dolan’s debut feature, “I Killed My Mother,” somewhat shockingly lost the prize for Best Canadian First Feature at the festival.

“Anyways” most notably beat out Sarah Polley’s acclaimed “Stories We Tell,” which went home empty handed.

The complete list of winners is below.

People’s Choice Award:
“Silver Linings Playbook,” directed by David O. Russell
Runners-up: “Argo,” directed by Ben Affleck and “Zaytoun,” directed by Eran Riklis

People’s Choice Award For Documentary:
“Artifact,” directed by Bartholomew Cubbins
Runners-up: “Storm Surfers 3D,” directed by Christopher Nelius and Justin McMillan,” and “Revolution,” directed by Rob Stewart

People’s Choice Award For Midnight Madness:
“Seven Psychopaths,” directed by Martin McDonagh
Runners-up: “The Bay,” directed by Barry Levinson and “John Dies at the End,” directed by Don Coscarelli

Best Canadian Feature Film:
“Laurence Anyways,” directed by Xavier Dolan

Best Canadian First Feature Film:
“Antiviral,” directed by Brandon Cronenberg and “Blackbird,” directed by Jason Buxton (TIE)

Prizes of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Special Presentations Section:
“In The House,” directed by Francois Ozon

Prizes of the International Critics (FIPRESCI Prize) for Discovery Section:
“Call Girl,” directed by Mikael Marcimain

NETPAC Award For Best Asian Film:
“The Land of Hope,” directed by Sion Sono

Award For Best Canadian Short Film:
“Keep a Modest Head,” directed by Deco Dawson

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox