Back to IndieWire

The Academy Names All Male Recipient List for the Governors Awards

The Academy Names All Male Recipient List for the Governors Awards

Yesterday, the Academy named their 2012 recipients of the Governors Awards.

As Deadline reports, the Academy will be presenting Honorary awards to stunt performer, Hal Needham, documentary filmmaker, D.A. Pennebaker and arts advocate, George Stevens Jr.  The Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award will be awarded to Jeffrey Katzenberg.

This award is given to those who have “extraordinary distinction in lifetime achievement, exceptional contributions to the state of motion picture arts and sciences, or for outstanding service to the Academy.”

The awards will be presented at the 4th Annual Governor Awards dinner on December 1st.

It’s really frustrating to see an institution that claims to be working on its diversity issues put out a list like this.  Not taking anything away from the exemplary work of D.A. Pennebaker, by why couldn’t they have given his award to the two of them who have been a documentary team for many years.  That’s not reaching at all.  And Hegedus is so deserving herself.

Academy Names 2012 Governors Awards: Honorees Jeffrey Katzenberg, Hal Needham, D.A. Pennebaker and George Stevens, Jr. (Deadline)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,