Back to IndieWire

Academy Reveals the Five Winning Writers for the 2012 Nicholl Fellowships

Academy Reveals the Five Winning Writers for the 2012 Nicholl Fellowships

Five lucky screenwriters received some great news today when the Academy of Motion Pictures Arts and Sciences revealed those selected as winners of the 2012 Academy Nicholl Fellowships in Screenwriting competition. Each writer will collect their $35,000 prize with the understanding that they will each complete a feature-length screenplay during their fellowship year.

This year’s winners are:

  • Nikole Beckwith, Brooklyn, NY, “Stockholm, Pennsylvania”
  • Sean Robert Daniels, Laezonia, Gauteng, South Africa, “Killers”
  • James DiLapo, New York, NY, “Devils at Play”
  • Allan Durand, Lafayette, LA, “Willie Francis Must Die Again”
  • Michael Werwie, Los Angeles, CA, “Extremely Wicked, Shockingly Evil, and Vile”

This year, the Fellowship’s 25th, is notable for being the first to include winners from Louisiana and South Africa. Since its inception, recipients have gone on to write and direct star-studded feature films (Jacob Aaron Ester’s “The Details” starring Tobey Maguire and Elizabeth Banks opens November 2), pen successful novels (Jeffrey Eugenides’ third novel, “The Marriage Plot,” was a 2012 National Book Critics Circle award nominee), and create hit TV shows (Andrew Marlow created and execute produces the ABC series “Castle”). To celebrate its 25th anniversary, the Nicholl Fellowships has gathered updates on what many of the Nicholl fellows are doing now. Go HERE to see what some of them are up to.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox