Back to IndieWire

Whistler Film Festival Announces Highlights, Honorees and Juries

Whistler Film Festival Announces Highlights, Honorees and Juries

Daniel Radcliffe, Rashida Jones and Eric Beckman among talent to be celebrated at WFF.
The 12th annual Whistler Film Festival (November 28 – December 2, 2012) celebrates the next generation of cinematic talent with an impressive lineup of star-studded guests and honorees.

The Whistler Film Festival shines the spotlight on actor Daniel Radcliffe (Harry Potter film series, Kill Your Darlings, The F Word, Horns) on November 30th in an intimate evening conversation that will speak to the exciting career of the respected young British stage and film actor. We have watched him mature on screen in the eponymous role of Harry Potter, the most successful film series of all time, in which he starred in all eight films, and now he has a tremendous year ahead which includes three highly anticipated films and a return to London’s West End stage. The diverse films include Kill Your Darlings, which stars Radcliffe as a young Allen Ginsberg, dramatizing the previously untold story of murder that sparked the Beat Revolution; The F Word, a bright romantic comedy co-starring Zoe Kazan; and Horns, a thriller based on Joe Hill’s supernatural novel, about a man who, while undergoing personal turmoil, experiences a horrific transformation, currently filming in Vancouver.
Rashida Jones will be honored with the Whistler Film Festival’s Trailblazer Award for Acting & Scriptwriting for her versatility in both comedic and dramatic roles and her growing presence in Hollywood as a screenwriter, which have quickly established herself as one of the industry’s bright stars. The honor will be presented on November 29th at a special evening In Conversation event moderated by Variety’s Executive Editor Steven Gaydos and followed by the Whistler premiere of Celeste and Jesse Forever. Co-writer and Actor Will McCormack will join the discussion and screening.
Eric Beckman, Founder and CEO of GKIDS, is the recipient of the Whistler Film Festival’s Trailblazer in Animation Award, which will be presented on December 1st at the screening of The Painting. GKIDS is an innovative distribution company responsible for distributing the most alternative and intelligent non-studio animated fare from around the world, with an amazing track record in selecting award winning and Oscar nominated animated fare from outside the studio system. 
The Whistler Film Festival is proud to host VARIETY’S 10 SCREENWRITERS TO WATCH presented by Amazon Studios and Variety. This year’s slate of screenwriters include: Kate Dippold (The Heat); Patrick Aison (Wunderkind); Reid Carolin (Magic Mike); Scott Rothman / Rajiv Joseph (Draft Day); Ted Melfi (St Vincent De Van Nuys); Derek Connolly (Safety Not Guaranteed); Bill Dubuque (The Judge); Chris Terrio (Argo); Kelly Marcel (50 Shades of Grey); and Ken Scott (Starbuck). Attending screenwriters will share their personal stories and challenges related to succeeding in today’s film industry at an afternoon discussion on December 1st hosted by Variety’s Executive Editor Steven Gaydos. Variety will also present the screenwriters with an award at WFF’s Awards Brunch on Sunday, December 2nd. 
“This year’s honorees represent the best of the next generation of cinematic storytellers, both in front of and behind the cameras,” says Whistler Film Festival’s Director of Programming Paul Gratton. “It all starts, of course, with the script, and so we are delighted to host Variety’s 10 Screenwriters to Watch. In this context, the fine writing of Rashida Jones and Will McCormack will be celebrated with a special presentation of their acclaimed indie romantic comedy Celeste and Jesse Forever. Daniel Radcliffe needs no introduction as we have watched him grow up on screen through the Harry Potter series. But as he proved with the classic horror hit The Woman in Black, he is a talent that we will be watching for years to come. Finally, our Trailblazer in Animation award honor to Eric Beckman of GKIDS and our presentation of their four Oscar qualifying films for Best Animated Feature, acknowledge his championing of quality animation from around the world. We are honored to recognize these talents not only as innovators, but as a much needed breath of fresh air to a franchise-driven film industry.”
This year’s Borsos jury is made up of Producer Martin Katz, acclaimed Actor/Director Helen Shaver and actors Rachelle Lefevre (Omerta, Barney’s Version) and Liane Balaban (One Week). This accomplished team will present the $15,000 Borsos Award for Best Canadian Feature, the second largest cash prize for a Canadian film in the country after TIFF, as well as a new award for Best Performance in a Borsos Competition Film. On the Documentary jury are the Sundance Institute’s Bird Runningwater, actress Sarain Boylan (Bon Cop, Bad Cop, Rookie Blue), and Brian D. Johnson, Movie Critic for Maclean’s magazine. 
The Festival film lineup and Summit industry schedule are available online. The Festival’s online box office is open for industry registration and festival passes. Ticket packages and individual film and event tickets are also are available online (until December 2nd). The Festival Box Office is now open for phone sales (1-877-838-FILM) and opens for walk-in sales on November 22nd. Accommodation packages are also available. For information, go to
The Whistler Film Festival is supported by Telefilm Canada, the Province of British Columbia, the Resort Municipality of Whistler and Tourism Whistler, and is sponsored by Bell Media, Variety, the Directors Guild of Canada – British Columbia, American Airlines, Sorel, Kokanee, Zoom Audio Visual Networks, Christie Digital, Glacier Media Group, Whistler Blackcomb and the Westin Resort & Spa Whistler.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox