You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Academy Reveals 104 Eligible Original Scores for 2012 Oscar Race

Academy Reveals 104 Eligible Original Scores for 2012 Oscar Race

Alexandre Desplat is 51 years old and has composed some 130 movie scores. He’s been nominated four times. This year they include three of the 104 eligible Oscar features: “Argo,” “Rise of the Guardians,” and “Zero Dark Thirty.” His score for “Moonrise Kingdom” and “Rust and Bone” didn’t get through the Academy’s strict eligibility requirements (see below.) Here’s TOH’s interview.

Desplat is a potential final five contender–if he doesn’t cancel himself out as he did last year–along with Oscar perennials John Williams (“Lincoln”), Danny Elfman (“Frankenweenie,” “Hitchcock,” “Dark Shadows,” “Men in Black III,” “Promised Land”), Hans Zimmer (“The Dark Knight Rises”), Thomas Newman (“Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” “Skyfall”) and Patrick Doyle (“Brave”).

The eligible scores along with their composers are listed below in alphabetical order by film title:

       “Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter,” Henry Jackman, composer
       “After the Wizard,” Stephen Main, composer
       “Alex Cross,” John Debney and Sebastian Morton, composers
       “The Amazing Spider-Man,” James Horner, composer
       “Anna Karenina,” Dario Marianelli, composer
       “Argo,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
       “Battleship,” Steve Jablonsky, composer
       “The Bay,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
       “Beasts of the Southern Wild,” Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, composers
       “Being Flynn,” Damon Gough, composer
       “The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel,” Thomas Newman, composer
       “Big Miracle,” Cliff Eidelman, composer
       “Booker’s Place: A Mississippi Story,” David Cieri, composer

       “Brave,” Patrick Doyle, composer
       “Brooklyn Castle,” B. Satz, composer
       “Chasing Ice,” J. Ralph, composer
       “Chasing Mavericks,” Chad Fischer, composer
       “Chicken with Plums,” Olivier Bernet, composer
       “Chimpanzee,” Nicholas Hooper, composer
       “Cloud Atlas,” Reinhold Heil and Johnny Klimek, composers
       “Compliance,” Heather McIntosh, composer
       “Contraband,” Clinton Shorter, composer
       “The Dark Knight Rises,” Hans Zimmer, composer
       “Dark Shadows,” Danny Elfman, composer
       “Darling Companion,” James Newton Howard, composer
       “Deadfall,” Marco Beltrami and Buck Sanders, composers
       “The Dictator,” Erran Baron Cohen, composer
       “Dr. Seuss’ The Lorax,” John Powell, composer
       “End of Watch,” David Sardy, composer
       “Ethel,” Miriam Cutler, composer
       “Flight,” Alan Silvestri, composer
       “For a Good Time, Call…” John Swihart, composer
       “For Greater Glory: The True Story of Cristiada,” James Horner, composer
       “Frankenweenie,” Danny Elfman, composer
       “Fun Size,” Deborah Lurie, composer
       “Girl in Progress,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
       “The Grey,” Marc Streitenfeld, composer
       “The Guilt Trip,” Christophe Beck, composer
       “Hidden Moon,” Luis Bacalov, composer
       “Hitchcock,” Danny Elfman, composer
       “The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey,” Howard Shore, composer
       “Hotel Transylvania,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
       “House at the End of the Street,” Theo Green, composer
       “The Hunger Games,” James Newton Howard, composer
       “Hyde Park on Hudson,” Jeremy Sams, composer
       “Ice Age Continental Drift,” John Powell, composer
       “The Impossible,” Fernando Velázquez, composer
       “Jack Reacher,” Joe Kraemer, composer
       “John Carter,” Michael Giacchino, composer
       “Journey 2: The Mysterious Island,” Andrew Lockington, composer
       “Lawless,” Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, composers
       “Life of Pi,” Mychael Danna, composer
       “Lincoln,” John Williams, composer
       “Lola Versus,” Will Bates and Philip Mossman, composers
       “Looper,” Nathan Johnson, composer
       “The Lucky One,” Mark Isham, composer
       “LUV,” Nuno Malo, composer
       “The Man with the Iron Fists,” RZA and Howard Drossin, composers
       “Marvel’s The Avengers,” Alan Silvestri, composer
       “The Master,” Jonny Greenwood, composer
       “Men in Black 3,” Danny Elfman, composer
       “Middle of Nowhere,” Kathryn Bostic, composer
       “Mirror Mirror,” Alan Menken, composer
       “The Odd Life of Timothy Green,” Geoff Zanelli, composer
       “On the Road,” Gustavo Santaolalla, composer
       “The Pardon,” Ashley Irwin, composer
       “Parental Guidance,” Marc Shaiman, composer
       “People Like Us,” A.R. Rahman, composer
       “The Possession,” Anton Sanko, composer
       “Prometheus,” Marc Streitenfeld, composer
       “Promised Land,” Danny Elfman, composer
       “The Raid: Redemption,” Mike Shinoda and Joseph Trapanese, composers
       “Red Tails,” Terence Blanchard, composer
       “Rise of the Guardians,” Alexandre Desplat, composer
       “Ruby Sparks,” Nick Urata, composer
       “Safe House,” Ramin Djawadi, composer
       “Safety Not Guaranteed,” Ryan Miller, composer
       “Saint Dracula,” Sreevalsan J. Menon, composer
       “Savages,” Adam Peters, composer
       “Seeking a Friend for the End of the World,” Rob Simonsen and Jonathan Sadoff, composers
       “The Sessions,” Marco Beltrami, composer
       “Sinister,” Christopher Young, composer
       “Skyfall,” Thomas Newman, composer
       “Smashed,” Eric D. Johnson and Andy Cabic, composers
       “Snow White and the Huntsman,” James Newton Howard, composer
       “Taken 2,” Nathaniel Mechaly, composer
       “Ted,” Walter Murphy, composer
       “Think Like a Man,” Christopher Lennertz, composer
       “This Means War,” Christophe Beck, composer
       “A Thousand Words,” John Debney, composer
       “The Three Stooges,” John Debney, composer
       “Trashed,” Vangelis, composer
       “Trouble with the Curve,” Marco Beltrami, composer
       “21 Jump Street,” Mark Mothersbaugh, composer
       “The Twilight Saga: Breaking Dawn Part 2,” Carter Burwell, composer
       “Until They Are Home,” Jamie Dunlap, composer
       “War of the Worlds The True Story,” Jamie Hall, composer
       “The Watch,” Christophe Beck, composer
       “West of Memphis,” Nick Cave and Warren Ellis, composers
       “Where Do We Go Now?” Khaled Mouzanar, composer
       “Won’t Back Down,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
       “The Words,” Marcelo Zarvos, composer
       “Wreck-It Ralph,” Henry Jackman, composer
       “Zero Dark Thirty,” Alexandre Desplat, composer

The Academy will send a reminder list of works submitted in the Original Score category with a nominations ballot to all members of the Music Branch, who will vote in the order of their preference for no more than five; they ones with the most votes will become the nominations for final voting for the award, which will be announced on January 10, 2013.

The Academy has strict rules for eligibility:  “the original score must be a substantial body of music that serves as original dramatic underscoring, and must be written specifically for the motion picture by the submitting composer.  Scores diluted by the use of tracked themes or other preexisting music, diminished in impact by the predominant use of songs, or assembled from the music of more than one composer shall not be eligible.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox