Back to IndieWire

‘Amour,’ ‘The Master’ Lead LA Film Critics Association Awards

'Amour,' 'The Master' Lead LA Film Critics Association Awards

The Los Angeles Film Critics Association have announced their annual awards, breaking with the “Zero Dark Thirty” consensus of every other critics group thus far and giving its top awards to Michael Haneke’s “Amour” and Paul Thomas Anderson’s “The Master.”

READ MORE: A Complete Guide To 2012-13 Awards Season

“Amour” won top honors as best picture, and also tied in the best actress race as Emmanuelle Riva and “Silver Linings Playbook” star Jennifer Lawrence received the same amount of votes (though it oddly lost best foreign film to “Holy Motors”). “The Master,” meanwhile, took four honors: best director, best actor, best supporting actress and best production design. It was also runner-up in the best picture, best cinematography and best music/score categories.

Other major winers included Dwight Henry, who surprised many for taking the best supporting actor prize for “Beasts of the Southern Wild.” That film also beat out “The Master” in the best music/score category.

Full list of announced winners:

Best Picture
(Runner-up: “The Master”)

Best Actor
Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”
(Runner-up: Denis Lavant, “Holy Motors”)

Best Actress
Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook” and Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour” (tie)

Best Supporting Actor
Dwight Henry, “Beasts of the Southern Wild
(Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”)

Best Supporting Actress
Amy Adams, “The Master”
(Runner-up: Anne Hathaway, “Les Miserables” and “The Dark Knight Rises”)

Best Director
Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master”
(Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”)

Best Screenplay
Chris Terrio, “Argo”
(Runner-up: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”)

Best Cinematography
Roger Deakins, “Skyfall”
(Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr., “The Master”)

Best Editing
Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, “Zero Dark Thirty”
(Runner-up: William Goldenberg, “Argo”)

Best Documentary/Non-fiction Film
“The Gatekeepers”
(Runner-up: “Searching For Sugar Man”)

Best Foreign-Language Film
“Holy Motors”
(Runner-up: “Footnote”)

Best Animated Film
(Runner-up: “It’s Such a Beautiful Day”)

Best Music/Score
Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild.”
(Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, “The Master”)

Best Production Design
David Crank and Jack Fisk, “The Master.”
(Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen, “Moonrise Kingdom”)

New Generation Award: TBA

Douglas E. Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video:

Sign up HERE for Indiewire’s Awards Season newsletter and receive a twice-weekly email roundup of our awards stories, hand-picked by our editors from across the Indiewire Network, plus additional coverage in the final run up to the Oscars.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox