Back to IndieWire

DGA Awards Achievers Michael Apted, Eric Shapiro, Susan Zwerman & Dency Nelson

DGA Awards Achievers Michael Apted, Eric Shapiro, Susan Zwerman & Dency Nelson

The Directors Guild announces the recipients of four achivement awards, set to be handed out at their 65th annual awards dinner on February 2. These honorees are in addition to the previously announced recipient of the Guild’s Lifetime Achievement Award for Motion Picture Direction, Milos Forman.

Director Michael Apted will receive the DGA’s Robert B. Aldrich Award, recognizing his service to the DGA and its membership; Eric Shapiro will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award in News Direction; Susan Zwerman will receive the Frank Capra Achievement Award, recognizing her career as a Unit Production Manager and Assistant Direcotor and service to the Guild; and Dency Nelson will receive the Franklin J. Schaffner Achievement Award, recognizing his career as a Stage Manager and service to the Guild.

Of Apted, Guild president Taylor Hackford states, “The service and dedication of our members is our Guild’s greatest strength, and no one embodies these qualities more than Michael Apted.”

He continues;

“When we honor lifetime achievement and outstanding dedication and contribution to the Guild, we pay homage to the qualities upon which our Guild was founded – distinguished craftsmanship and service. Eric Shapiro’s lifetime of excellence in news direction began when he joined the DGA as a young production associate in 1965, and nearly 50 years later, it is our pleasure to recognize the man who has directed the coverage of every major news event of our generation.  Susan Zwerman and Dency Nelson represent the highest examples of Guild service through their dedication, advocacy and representation on behalf of their fellow members, all while maintaining active, successful careers in their chosen fields.  We are privileged to benefit from their service.”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox