Back to IndieWire

‘Girls’ Gets a Soundtrack and a Look Ahead at the New Season

'Girls' Gets a Soundtrack and a Look Ahead at the New Season

Lena Dunham and Judd Apatow’s “Girls” returns to HBO for its ten-episode second seaon on January 13th at 9pm, with Allison Williams, Jemima Kirke, Zosia Mamet, Alex Karpovsky and Adam Driver all returning, and Chris Abbott, Andrew Rannells, Donald Glover, Chris O’Dowd, Rita Wilson, Jorma Taccone, Rosanna Arguette, Carol Kane, John Cameron Mitchell and Patrick Wilson set to guest star.

HBO’s released episode descriptions for January, for those who want a peek ahead:

Episode #11: “It’s About Time”
Debut: January 13
Hannah (Lena Dunham) throws a housewarming party with brand-new roommate Elijah (Andrew Rannells), but it’s hard to move on when she’s still playing nurse to Adam (Adam Driver). Marnie (Allison Williams) gets bad news at work and a visit from her mom (Rita Wilson); Shoshanna (Zosia Mamet) avoids Ray (Alex Karpovsky) at the party; and sun-kissed Jessa (Jemima Kirke) returns from her honeymoon. Written by Lena Dunham & Jenni Konner; directed by Lena Dunham.

Episode #12: “I Get Ideas”
Debut: January 20
Hannah gets unsolicited musical attention from heartbroken Adam and displeasing opinions on her writing from Sandy (Donald Glover). Elijah questions his sexuality; Marnie makes a career compromise when her curatorial dreams are crushed; Jessa revels in married life; Shoshanna and Ray make magic; and Elijah and Marnie harbor a secret. Written by Jenni Konner; directed by Lena Dunham.

Episode #13: “Bad Friend”
Debut: January 27
On a freelance writing assignment to get out of her comfort zone, Hannah befriends the junkie downstairs and parties hard with Elijah, who reveals an explosive secret. Meanwhile, Marnie has a long awaited run-in with artist Booth Jonathan (Jorma Taccone). Written by Lena Dunham & Sarah Heyward; directed by Jesse Peretz.

Nothing out of character there! Elsewhere, the music-heavy show is getting a soundtrack, which will be released by Fueled By Ramen on January 8th. The tracklisting is below (and of course it includes that Robyn song from episode three). You can preview the exclusive Santigold track “Girls” here:

1. ROBYN “Dancing On My Own”
2. FUN. “Sight Of The Sun” exclusive to the Girls soundtrack
3. HARPER SIMON “Wishes And Stars”
4. SANTIGOLD “Girls” exclusive to the Girls soundtrack
5. WHITE SEA “Overdrawn”
6. GROUPLOVE “Everyone’s Gonna Get High” exclusive to the Girls soundtrack
7. ICONA POP “I Love It”
8. THE ECHO-FRIENDLY “Same Mistakes”
9. BELLE & SEBASTIAN “I Don’t Love Anyone”
10. FLEET FOXES “Montezuma”
11. OH LAND “White Nights”
12. THE VACCINES “Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)”
13. LIA ICES “Love Is Won”
14. MICHAEL PENN “On Your Way” exclusive to the Girls soundtrack

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Television and tagged , , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox