You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

LA Film Critics Awards Led by ‘Amour’ and ‘The Master’

LA Film Critics Awards Led by 'Amour' and 'The Master'

As predicted, on Sunday the Los Angeles Film Critics Association rewarded many indie films that had been under-appreciated by other groups so far. They awarded Best Film and Actress to Michael Haneke’s “Amour,” which had clocked several key foreign film wins thus far. Emmanuelle Riva shared the actress prize with Jennifer Lawrence of “Silver Linings Playbook,” which was runner-up for Best Screenplay. On the studio side, the writing award was won by Chris Terrio for “Argo,” which was runner-up for Best Editing. Editor William Goldenberg, who won for “Zero Dark Thirty” with Dylan Tichenor, was competing with himself. Full list of winners below.

Happily for the Weinstein Co.,”The Master” had a strong showing with four wins. It was runner-up for Best Picture, and earned Best Director for Paul Thomas Anderson, Best Actor for Joaquin Phoenix and Supporting Actress for Amy Adams (runners up: Denis Levant for “Holy Motors” and Anne Hathaway for “Les Miserables” and “The Dark Knight Rises,” respectively) as well as Best Production Design for David Crank and Jack Fisk (runner-up was Adam Stockhausen, “Moonrise Kingdom”).

Kathryn Bigelow, whose “Zero Dark Thirty” won Best Director, Picture and Cinematography at the New York Film Critics Circle, had to settle for director runner-up in LA. It’s unclear how LAFCA would have voted sans the New York and National Board Review wins for “Zero Dark Thirty.”

The LAFCA went with “Holy Motors” for best foreign film, with last year’s Israeli Oscar submission “Footnote” as runner-up.

“Beasts of the Southern Wild” had three wins, for supporting actor Dwight Henry, the non-pro baker who played Hushpuppy’s father (runner-up was Christoph Waltz of “Django Unchained”), Best Score, to Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin (Jonny Greenwood was runner up for “The Master”) and New Generation Award for Zeitlin.

Best Documentary went to Israeli Dror Moreh’s “The Gatekeepers,” while runner-up was another Sony Pictures Classics doc, the much-lauded “Searching for Sugar Man.”

Tim Burton’s “Frankenweenie” won yet again for best animated feature, while runner-up was less-known “It’s Such a Beautiful Day.”

Best Cinematography went to Roger Deakins for “Skyfall.” Runner-up was Mihai Malaimare Jr., “The Master.”

The winner of the LAFCA’s own Douglas Edwards Experimental/Independent Film/Video Award is “Leviathan,” which Cinema Guild has yet to release.

Notably missing from the LAFCA voting were “Lincoln,” which won three prizes from the NYFCC, Jacques Audiard’s “Rust and Bone,” Ang Lee’s “Life of Pi,” Ben Lewin’s “The Sessions,” and Joe Wright’s “Anna Karenina,” which will look to the Guilds and the Golden Globes for future support.

The New York Film Critics Circle and less influential National Board of Review voted last week: “Zero Dark Thirty” came out first with both. The DC film critics, on the other hand, went for “Lincoln.” Various film critics are starting to post their ten bests. Here’s Time, which names “Cloud Atlas” the worst film of 2012, The Washington Post, and Carrie Rickey.

Next week: the Broadcast Film Critics’ Critic Choice Awards (for which I voted today), SAG and Golden Globes nominations.

Picture: “Amour”
Runner-up: “The Master”

Director: Paul Thomas Anderson, “The Master”
Runner-up: Kathryn Bigelow, “Zero Dark Thirty”

Actor: Joaquin Phoenix, “The Master”
Runner-up: Denis Lavant, “Holy Motors”

Actress: Jennifer Lawrence, “Silver Linings Playbook” and Emmanuelle Riva, “Amour” (tie)

Supporting actress: Amy Adams, “The Master”
Runner-up: Anne Hathaway, “The Dark Knight Rises” and “Les Miserables”

Supporting actor: Dwight Henry, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Runner-up: Christoph Waltz, “Django Unchained”

Screenplay: Chris Terrio, “Argo”
Runner-up: David O. Russell, “Silver Linings Playbook”

Foreign-language film: “Holy Motors”
Runner-up: “Footnote”

Documentary/non-fiction film: “The Gatekeepers”
Runner-up: “Searching for Sugar Man”

Animation: “Frankenweenie”
Runner-up: “It’s Such a Beautiful Day”

New Generation: Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Cinematography: Roger Deakins, “Skyfall”
Runner-up: Mihai Malaimare Jr., “The Master”

Editing: Dylan Tichenor and William Goldenberg, “Zero Dark Thirty”
Runner-up: William Goldenberg, “Argo”

Production design: Jack Fisk and David Crank, “The Master”
Runner-up: Adam Stockhausen, “Moonrise Kingdom”

Music score: Dan Romer and Benh Zeitlin, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Runner-up: Jonny Greenwood, “The Master”

The Douglas Edwards Independent/Experimental Film/Video Award: “Leviathan”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox