Back to IndieWire

Listen: ‘Girls’ Soundtrack Features New Music From Santigold, fun & Grouplove, Plus Cuts From Robyn, Belle & Sebastian And More

Listen: 'Girls' Soundtrack Features New Music From Santigold, fun & Grouplove, Plus Cuts From Robyn, Belle & Sebastian And More

After a few months of relative quiet, Lena Dunham, much to the rage of her various detractors, is seemingly everywhere again. Her multi-million dollar book proposal leaked earlier in the week, she features in Judd Apatow‘s “This Is 40” next week and the first season of “Girls” landed on DVD today, with the second season set to start up in about a month’s time (and we can’t bloody wait).

And now, you’ll be able to get a dose of “Girls” in your earphones as well, as HBO and Fueled by Ramen have announced the release of “Girls – Volume 1: Music From The Original Series,” a soundtrack to the show featuring many of the cuts that played across the first season, as well as a few, presumably, that’ll feature in the second.

The release — in both physical CD form that will presumably be bought by no-one that actually watches the show, and a deluxe digital edition — features a lead single from Santigold, called simply “Girls,” while the record also includes cuts from Robyn (one of the more iconic musical moments on the show to date), White Sea, Icona Pop, Belle & Sebastian and Fleet Foxes, among others. It’s not all good news, though; along with the brand new cuts from Santigold,  Tegan & Sara and Grouplove, there’s also a new track by fun., a bad habit presumably picked up from mentor Judd Apatow…  

Dunham commented in a press release “Music is such a huge part of my creative process. I make playlists to write by and listen to as I head to set in the morning, and I experiment in editing with songs that the characters would love and that accurately reflect their struggles. Girls’ music supervisor Manish Raval and I are crazy about everything from the pop that teen girls devour to the niche indie rock from days of yore. To collaborate with Fueled by Ramen and so many artists who inspire me on this compilation is a dream.”

The show, among its many, many virtues, has shown a keen eye for music supervision so far, and this is a pretty good selection of songs, even if we’re sure that the hardcore fans already downloaded them long ago. The record hits stores/your favorite mp3 wholesaler on January 8th, with the show returning to HBO on January 15th. Listen to Santigold’s cut below, and (most of) the rest on page 2. [Pitchfork}

01 Robyn: “Dancing on My Own”
02 fun.: “Sight of the Sun”
03 Harper Simon: “Wishes And Stars”
04 Santigold: “Girls”
05 White Sea: “Overdrawn”
06 Grouplove: “Everyone’s Gonna Get High”
07 Sleigh Bells: “Infinity Guitars” *
08 Tegan & Sara: “Fool to Cry” *
09 The Echo-Friendly: “Same Mistakes”
10 Icona Pop: “I Love It”
11 Belle & Sebastian: “I Don’t Love Anyone”
12 The Troggs: “With a Girl Like You” *
13 Fleet Foxes: “Montezuma”
14 Oh Land: “White Nights”
15 Generationals: “Yours Forever” *
16 The Vaccines: “Wreckin’ Bar (Ra Ra Ra)”
17 Lia Ices: “Love Is Won”
18 Michael Penn: “On Your Way”

* = Digital edition only.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox