Back to IndieWire

‘Amour’ Leads National Society of Film Critics Awards; Day-Lewis, Riva Among Acting Winners

'Amour' Leads National Society of Film Critics Awards; Day-Lewis, Riva Among Acting Winners

The National Society of Film Critics chose Michael Haneke’s ‘Amour’ as their best picture of 2012. The film narrowly topped Paul Thomas Anderson’s “The Master” for that prize, while its director beat out Anderson and Kathryn Bigelow to win the best director prize as well.

“Amour” also won the best actress prize, with Emmanuelle Riva beating out runners-up Jennifer Lawrence (“Silver Linings Playbook”) and Jessica Chastain (“Zero Dark Thirty”). Daniel Day-Lewis (“Lincoln”), Matthew McConaughy (“Magic Mike” and “Bernie”) and Amy Adams (“The Master”) won the other acting prizes.

The Society, which is made up of 60 of the country’s  movie critics, held its 47th annual awards voting meeting, using a weighted ballot system, at the Elinor Bunin Munroe Center as guests of the Film Society of Lincoln Center. 

Complete list of winners, including runners-up and vote tallies, below. For a complete list of all announced awards this season, click here.

*1. Amour (Sony Classics) – 28
2. The Master – 25
3. Zero Dark Thirty – 18

*1. Michael Haneke (Amour) – 27
2. Kathryn Bigelow – 24
2. Paul Thomas Anderson – 24

*1. Daniel Day-Lewis – Lincoln – 59 (Dreamworks/Touchstone)
2. Denis Lavant – 49
2. Joaquin Phoenix – 49

*1. Emmanuelle Riva – Amour – 50 (Sony Classics)
2. Jennifer Lawrence –  42
3. Jessica Chastain– 32

*1.  Matthew McConaughey – Magic Mike (Warner Bros.), Bernie (Millennium Entertainment) – 27
2. Tommy Lee Jones – 22
3. Philip Seymour Hoffman – 19

*1. Amy Adams – The Master (The Weinstein Co.) – 34
2. Sally Field – 23
3. Anne Hathaway – 13

*1. The Gatekeepers – Sony Pictures Classics – 53
2. This Is Not a Film – 45
3. Searching for Sugar Man – 23

*1. Lincoln (Dreamworks/Touchstone) – Tony Kushner – 59
2. The Master (P.T. Anderson)– 27
3.  Silver Linings Playbook (David O. Russell) – 19

*1. The Master (Mihai Malaimare, Jr. ) – 60
2. Skyfall (Roger Deakins) – 30
3. Zero Dark Thirty (Greig Fraser) – 21

EXPERIMENTAL:  This Is Not a Film (Jafar Panahi)

    •    To Laurence Kardish, Senior Film Curator at MoMA, for his extraordinary 44 years of service, including this year’s Weimar Cinema retrospective.
    •    To Milestone Film and Video for their ongoing Shirley Clarke project.

DEDICATION: This year’s awards are dedicated to the late Andrew Sarris, one of the most original and influential American film critics as well as a founding member of the Society.

Sign up HERE for Indiewire’s Awards Season newsletter and receive a twice-weekly email roundup of our awards stories, hand-picked by our editors from across the Indiewire Network, plus additional coverage in the final run up to the Oscars.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox