Back to IndieWire

Details For The ‘Stoker’ Soundtrack Featuring Clint Mansell, Emily Wells & Philip Glass

Details For The 'Stoker' Soundtrack Featuring Clint Mansell, Emily Wells & Philip Glass

Clint Mansell turned 50 earlier this week, and it could be argued that he is the finest high-profile working composer yet to receive an Oscar nomination. That’s despite creating some truly stunning scores for the likes of “Requiem For A Dream,” “Black Swan,” “Moon” and “The Fountain.” The regular Darren Aronofsky collaborator will be teaming up with the director again on his forthcoming “Noah,” and now some details have surfaced on his other big upcoming project, Park Chan-wook’s “Stoker.”

The psychological thriller starring Mia Wasikowska, Nicole Kidman and Matthew Goode opens on March 1st, and we’ve now got a detailed breakdown of the film’s soundtrack album. Sadly there’s nothing to listen to quite yet, but the 18-track album will contain ten tracks from Mansell’s score. Alongside Mansell there’s also an original song from Emily Wells titled “Becomes the Color,” and Nancy Sinatra and Lee Hazelwood’s “Summer Wine.” Wells also shows up on the album’s bonus track, which is a collaboration between her and Mansell titled “If I Ever Had a Heart.”

The film revolves around Wasikowska’s India Stoker, whose mysterious Uncle Charlie (Goode) who she previously didn’t know existed comes to live with her after the death of her father. The film will premiere at Sundance before it goes on general release, so hopefully it won’t be too long before we hear how good the film – and indeed its soundtrack – turns out to be. [Film Music Reporter]

“Stoker” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. I’m Not Formed By Things That Are of Myself Alone (dialogue)
2. Becomes the Color – Emily Wells
3. Happy Birthday (A Death in the Family) – Clint Mansell
4. Uncle Charlie – Clint Mansell
5. A Whistling Tune from a Lonely Man (dialogue)
6. The Hunter & the Game – Clint Mansell
7. Blossoming – Clint Mansell
8. Summer Wine – Nancy Sinatra & Lee Hazelwood
9. A Family Affair – Clint Mansell
10. Becoming… – Clint Mansell
11. Duet – Philip Glass
12. Crawford Institute (Family Secrets) – Clint Mansell
13. Stride La Vampa (Verdi) – Victoria Cortez
14. The Hunter Plays the Game – Clint Mansell
15. In Full Bloom – Clint Mansell
16. The Hunter Becomes The Game – Clint Mansell
17. We Are Not Responsible For Who We Come to Be (Free)
18. If I Ever Had a Heart – Clint Mansell & Emily Wells (Bonus Track)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox