Back to IndieWire

Focus Forward Filmmaker Competition Winners Announced at Sundance

Focus Forward Filmmaker Competition Winners Announced at Sundance

Barcelona-based filmmaker Rafel Duran Torrent has been awarded the grand jury prize in GE and cinelan’s Focus Forward Filmmaker Competition. Torrent received a $100,000 cash prize and a collaboration with the Sundance Institute ShortsLab at a special awards ceremony at the Sundance Film Festival Tuesday.

Jared P Scott & Kelly Nyks, Paul Lazarus, Kim Munsamy and Callum Cooper were given runner-up awards that combined total $200,000. The winners were chosen from more than 600 submissions from 69 countries. 

“We were impressed with the integrity, quality, and creativity of the submitted films,” said jury member Caroline Libresco. “Our deliberations went on for over a week by email and phone—it certainly wasn’t easy deciding how to award the prizes. From a programmer’s point of view, I found it heartening to see that so much great work is being made by filmmakers all over the world, including many at early points in their career.”

The winning films are live and available to view for free on the Focus Forward website, along with the 15 other finalists.

“It is an honor to be back at the Sundance Film Festival with the Focus Forward initiative,” said cinelan’s Morgan Spurlock and Karol Martesko-Fenster. “This is where we launched the program exactly one year ago and are thrilled to round out the 30 films with five world premieres during this year’s festival.  We are excited about the global response to the program, and the measurable impact these films have had, and are looking forward to new partnerships taking the program to the next level during the course of 2013.”

The cash prize winners of the Filmmaker Competition are as follows:

Grand Jury Prize, $100,000: Rafel Duran Torrent (“Cyborg Foundation”), Spain

Winner, 2nd Place, $50,000: Jared P. Scott & Kelly Nyks (“The Artificial Leaf”), USA

Winner, 3rd Place, $30,000: Paul Lazarus (“Slingshot”), USA

Winner, 4th Place, $10,000: Kim Munsamy (“Bones Don’t Lie and Don’t Forget”), Guatemala

Winner, 5th Place, $10,000: Callum Cooper (“Mine Kafon”), UK

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox