Back to IndieWire

‘Blancanieves’ Leads Spanish Goya Awards, Bayona Takes Best Director for ‘Impossible’

'Blancanieves' Leads Spanish Goya Awards, Bayona Takes Best Director for 'Impossible'

The Spanish Film Academy’s Goya Awards are announced, and Pablo Berger’s “Blancanieves” (a twist on the Snow White fairytale) took Best Picture and nine other awards. Juan Antonio Bayona won Best Director for “The Impossible,” but handed the award over to María Belón at the awards ceremony; the film is based on her family’s survival story during the 2004 Tsunami. “The Impossible”‘s Naomi Watts (who plays Maria) is competing for the Best Actress Oscar. Our interview with her is here.

“Blancanieves” was Spain’s Oscar submission, but it did not make the shortlist. The full list of Goya winners is below.

Juan Antonio Bayona for The Impossible
Jose Sacristan for The Dead Man and Being Happy
Maribel Verdu for Blancanieves
Original Screenplay
Pablo Berger for Blancanieves
Adapted Screenplay
Javier Barreira, Gorka Magallon, Ignacio del Moral, Jordi Gasull and Neil Landau for Tad, the Lost Explorer
Supporting Actor
Julian Villagran for Grupo 7
Supporting Actress
Candela Pena for Una Pistola en Cada Mano
Honorary Goya
Concha Velasco
Production Design
Sandra Hermida Muniz for The Impossible
Artistic Director
Alain Bainee For Blancanieves
Kiko de la Rica for Blancanieves
Special Effects
Pau Costa and Felix Berges for The Impossible
Paco Delgado for Blancanieves
Bernat Vilaplano and Elena Ruiz for The Impossible
Peter Glossop, Marc Orts, Oriol Tarrago for The Impossible
Original Score
Alfonso Villalonga for Blancanieves
Original Song
No Te Puedo Encontrar from Blancanieves
New Actor
Joaquin Nunez for Grupo 7
Makeup and Hair
Sylvie Imbert and Fermin Galan for Blancanieves
New Actress
Macarena Garcia for Blancanieves
New Director
Enrique Gato for Tad, the Lost Explorer
Animated Feature Film
The Adventures of Tadeo Jones
Documentary Film
Sons of the Clouds, The Last Colony
European Film
Untouchable (France)
Ibero-American Film
Juan de los Muertos (Cuba)
Animated Short
Jaime Maestro for El Vendedor de Humo
Fiction Short
Esteban Crespo Garcia for Aquel no Era Yo
Documentary Short
Sergio Oksman for A Story for the Modlins

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox