Back to IndieWire

‘Silver Linings Playbook’ Dominates The Spirit Awards With Best Picture, Best Director & 4 Awards Total

'Silver Linings Playbook' Dominates The Spirit Awards With Best Picture, Best Director & 4 Awards Total

Film Independent handed out their Independent Spirit Awards this afternoon, with the Oscars‘ cooler and more casual younger sibling handing out their statues in a tent on the beach in Santa Monica, and host Andy Samberg overseeing the proceedings. We followed along on Twitter, thanks to those intrepid correspondents tweeting along, and have the list of winners for you below. “Silver Linings Playbook” dominated the major awards, picking up statues for David O. Russell (Best Screenplay and Best Director), Jennifer Lawrence (Best Female Lead) and Best Feature. “The Sessions” got some love for John Hawkes (Best Male Lead) and Helen Hunt (Best Supporting Female), and another well-loved and Oscar-overlooked film, “The Perks of Being a Wallflower,” picked up the Best First Feature Award. Sundance darling “Beasts of the Southern Wild” picked up the award for Best Cinematography for Ben Richardson. According to the Twitter correspondents in the room, it seems that the crowd was rooting for ‘Beasts’ and was disappointed with the ‘SLP’ domination, perhaps since ‘Beasts’ is more emblematic of that truly “independent spirit.” See below for the full list of winners, including Matthew McConaughey for Best Supporting Male in “Magic Mike,” and “Amour” for Best Foreign Feature. Tune into the broadcast tonight on IFC at 10 p.m. EST/PST for the full show. 


Hello all and happy Saturday. Awards weekend has already kicked off in Santa Monica, with the Independent Spirit Awards handing out the Jameson on the red carpet at around oh, 11 a.m. this morning, and they’ve just started handing out the awards. Andy Samberg hosts, and since the awards won’t be broadcast until later tonight on IFC (10 p.m. EST/PST) we will be updating our post with the winners thanks to those trusty reporters who are tweeting the awards from inside the tent! Stay tuned as we will update this post as it continues! 

So far, “The Perks of Being A Wallflower” has scooped up the trophy for Best First Feature, and “Safety Not Guaranteed” writer Derek Connolly got the award for Best First Screenplay. 

Ladies of Tampa! Matthew McConaughey in “Magic Mike” has taken the award for Best Supporting actor! Celebratory lap dances all around! 

Amour” takes Best International Feature, while the John Cassavetes Award (for films made under $500,000) goes to Sundance ’12 fave “Middle of Nowhere.”

Helen Hunt nabs the Best Supporting Female award for “The Sessions,” while “Beasts of the Southern Wild” picks up its first award for Best Cinematography (Ben Richardson). 

David O. Russell has picked up the Best Screenplay and Best Director statues for “Silver Linings Playbook.”

The “SLP” train keeps rolling with Jennifer Lawrence picking up the Best Female Lead award. 

The Sessions” has now picked up awards for its two leads, Helen Hunt for Supporting Female and John Hawkes for Best Male Lead. 

Ain’t no stoppin’ this now: “SLP” takes Best Feature. 

Best Feature
“Beasts of the Southern Wild”
“Keep the Lights On”
“Moonrise Kingdom”
Winner: “Silver Linings Playbook”

Best Director
Wes Anderson – “Moonrise Kingdom”
Julia Loktev – “The Loneliest Planet”
Winner: David O. Russell – “Silver Linings Playbook”
Ira Sachs – “Keep the Lights On”
Benh Zeitlin – “Beasts of the Southern Wild”

Best First Feature
“Fill the Void”
“Gimme the Loot”
“Safety Not Guaranteed”
“Sound of My Voice”
Winner: “The Perks of Being a Wallflower”

John Cassavetes Award
“Breakfast With Curtis”
“The Color Wheel”
Winner: “Middle of Nowhere”
“Mosquita y Mari”

Best Male Lead
Jack Black – “Bernie”
Bradley Cooper – “Silver Linings Playbook”
Winner: John Hawkes – “The Sessions”
Thure Lindhart – “Keep the Lights On”
Matthew McConaughey – “Killer Joe”
Wendell Pierce – “Four”

Best Female Lead
Linda Cardellini – “Return”
Emayatzy Corinealdi – “Middle of Nowhere”
Winner: Jennifer Lawrence – “Silver Linings Playbook”
Quvenzhane Wallis – “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
Mary Elizabeth Winstead – “Smashed”

Best Supporting Male
Winner: Matthew McConaughey – “Magic Mike”
David Oyelowo – “Middle of Nowhere”
Michael Pena – “End of Watch”
Sam Rockwell – “Seven Psychopaths”
Bruce Willis – “Moonrise Kingdom”

Best Supporting Female
Rosemarie DeWitt – “Your Sister’s Sister”
Ann Dowd – “Compliance”
Winner: Helen Hunt – “The Sessions”
Brit Marling – “Sound of My Voice”
Lorraine Toussaint – “MIddle of Nowhere”

Best Screenplay
Wes Anderson – “Moonrise Kingdom”
Zoe Kazan – “Ruby Sparks”
Martin McDonagh – “Seven Psychopaths”
Winner: David O Russell – “Silver Linings Playbook”
Ira Sachs & Mauricio Zacharias – “Keep the Lights On”

Best First Screenplay
Rama Burshtein – “Fill the Void”
Winner: Derek Connolly – “Safety Not Guaranteed”
Christopher Ford – “Robot & Frank
Rashida Jones & Will McCormack – “Celeste & Jesse Forever
Jonathan Lisecki – “Gayby”

Best International Feature
Winner: “Amour”
“Once Upon a TIme In Anatolia”
“Rust & Bone”
“War Witch”

Best Documentary
“The Central Park Five”
“How to Survive a Plague”
Winner: “The Invisible War”
“Marina Abramovic: The Artist Is Present”
“The Waiting Room”

Best Cinematography
Winner: Ben Richardson, “Beasts of the Southern Wild”
“End of Watch”
“Moonrise Kingdom”
“Valley of the Saints”

Piaget Producers Award
Mynette Louie – “Stones In the Sun”
Derrick Tseng – “Prince Avalanche”
Alicia Van Couvering – “Nobody Walks”

Someone To Watch Award
David Fenster – “Pincus”
Adam Leon – “Gimme the Loot”
Rebecca Thomas – “Electrick Children”

Stella Artois Truer Than Fiction Award
Lucien Castaing-Taylor and Verena Pravel – “Leviathan”
Peter Nicks – “The Waiting Room”
Jasonyyyee Tippet and Elizabeth Mimms – “Only the Young”

Robert Altman Award

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox