Back to IndieWire

‘Skyfall’ Wins Cinematographers Award

'Skyfall' Wins Cinematographers Award

Roger Deakins, ASC, BSC, was honored by the American Society of Cinematographers Sunday for feature film “Skyfall,” beating out current awards frontrunner Claudio Miranda for “Life of Pi.”  Other winners at the 27th ACE awards ceremony include TV’s “Game of Thrones,” “Hunted,” “Wilfred” and “Great Expectations.”

Besides Miranda, Deakins prevailed over Seamus McGarvey for “Anna Karenina,” Danny Cohen for “Les Miserables” and Janusz Kaminski for “Lincoln.”

Deakins is legendary at this point for having been nominated for ten Oscars without ever winning one. The ASC has been more generous, awarding him twice out of ten nominations, for “The Shawshank Redemption” and “The Man Who Wasn’t There.” He also received the organization’s Lifetime Achievement Award in 2011.

Angelina Jolie presented the ASC Lifetime Achievement Award to Dean Semler, ASC, ACS who earned an Oscar and an ASC Award for Kevin Costner’s “Dances with Wolves” as well as an ASC award for Mel Gibson’s “Apocalypto.” Semler shot Jolie’s directorial debut “In the Land of Milk and Honey” and the upcoming “Maleficent,” in which she stars.

First-time nominee Balazs Bolygo, HSC and first-time winner Kramer Morgenthau, ASC tied in the one-hour television episodic category for “Hunted” (Cinemax) and “Game of Thrones” (HBO) respectively. First-time nominee Florian Hoffmeister won the TV movie/miniseries award for “Great Expectations” (PBS) and first-time nominee Bradford Lipson claimed top honors in the half-hour television episodic category for “Wilfred” (FX).

Director Steve McQueen and actress Nastassja Kinski introduced and accepted the ASC International Award for Robby Müller, NSC, BV., who could not attend.

The Career Achievement in Television Award was presented to Rodney Charters, ASC, CSC (“24”). The ASC Presidents Award was given to Curtis Clark, ASC (“The Draughtsman’s Contract”) by Stephen Burum, ASC. Last year, Emmanuel Lubezki, ASC, AMC won the ASC feature award for “The Tree of Life.” 

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox