Back to IndieWire

‘Trance’ Soundtrack Features Unkle, Moby, Rosario Dawson, Emeli Sandé & Underworld’s Rick Smith And More

'Trance' Soundtrack Features Unkle, Moby, Rosario Dawson, Emeli Sandé & Underworld's Rick Smith And More

After the almost universal acclaim that greeted his Olympic opening ceremony, it seems Danny Boyle is teaming up again with singer Emeli Sandé and frequent collaborator Rick Smith, who also directed the music for the London 2012 extravaganza. The “Trancesoundtrack will mark the seventh time the Oscar-winning director and the Underworld veteran have worked together since coming together for the seminal “Trainspotting” in 1996. 

Boyle has described “Trance” as “reach[ing] back to the darker, more anarchic spirit of films like ‘Trainspotting‘ on which Rick was a key collaborator. The film is a puzzle of the protagonist’s own making and Rick’s music brilliantly drives the interior landscape of these characters as they try to solve it.” The soundtrack also features contributions from fellow stalwarts of the nineties dance scene Moby and Unkle as well as the track “Here it Comes” written especially for the film by Sandé. 

The Olympic project, perhaps the highest profile work in the careers of all three artists, reportedly took its toll, although it was the perennially restless Boyle who reached out first “After finishing the Opening Ceremony, I hardly knew what day of the week it was. I took a month off work, off music, off everything,” Smith said, “Exactly one month and three days after we said goodbye in the stadium, I received a text from Danny that said, ‘Do you ever want to hear from me again workwise and would that go as far as having a chat about ‘Trance’…questions, questions. Two minutes later I was on board.” Sandé added that “It was wonderful to work with Rick again after the amazing time I had with him putting together the track for the Opening Ceremony at the Olympics. I was honoured to be asked to collaborate with him again for the film and, with his help, I believe we have created something very special.” 

The soundtrack to Trance streets on March 25 via Universal with liner notes by Boyle. The film opens in the UK on March 27th and in the U.S. on April 5th.

“Trance” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. ‘Chanson D’Amour’ (Art & Dotty Todd)
2. ‘Bullet Cut’ (Rick Smith)
3. ‘Solomon’ (Rick Smith)
4. ‘Here It Comes’ (Emeli Sandé & Rick Smith)
5. ‘Cannon Fall’ (Rick Smith)
6. ‘Sandman’ (Kirsty McGee)
7. ‘Raw Umber’ (Rick Smith)
8. ‘The Day’ (Moby)
9. ‘Santiago (101 Greatest Goals)’ (Rick Smith)
10. ‘Hold My Hand’ (UNKLE)
11. ‘Bring It To Me’ (Rick Smith)
12. ‘Movin’ On Up’ (M People)
13. ‘Soho Dim Sum’ (Rick Smith)
14. ‘You Knew’ (Rick Smith)
15. ‘The Heist’ (Rick Smith)
16. ‘Sandman (I’ll be There)’ (Rosario Dawson & Rick Smith).  

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox