Back to IndieWire

Cannes Directors’ Fortnight Lineup Unveiled, Includes New Films by Alejandro Jodorowsky

Cannes Directors' Fortnight Lineup Unveiled, Includes New Films by Alejandro Jodorowsky

“Holy Mountain” director Alejandro Jodorowsky will reemerge after over twenty years’ absence to present his latest film “The Dance of Reality” on the Croisette at this year’s Cannes Directors’ Fortnight. The famed Chilean-French surrealist filmmaker hasn’t directed a feature since 1990’s “The Rainbow Thief.” 

In addition to screening his newest work, Cannes will also unveil Frank Pavich’s “Jodorowsky’s Dune,” a feature-length documentary on the midnight movie director’s aborted attempt to bring Frank Herbert’s “Dune” novels to the screen. Salvador Dali, Pink Floyd and H.R. Giger — the Oscar-winning Swiss artist who designed all those womb-like set pieces for Ridley Scott’s “Alien” — were among just a few of the notable figures initially brought on by Jodorowsky for “Dune,” which was later dubiously adapted by David Lynch.

Also included in the often more indie-minded Directors’ Fortnight lineup of 21 features and 9 shorts are Sundance films “Magic Magic,” starring Michael Cera, and horror gothic “We Are What We Are.” It was previously announced that “Waltz with Bashir” director Ari Folman’s animation/live-action hybrid “The Congress,” with Robin Wright, would open the Fortnight. Full lineup below.

“Above the Hill” (Raphael Nadjari)

“Apres la nuit” (Basil Da Cunha)

“Les Apaches” (Thierry De Peretti)

“Blue Ruin” (Jeremy Saulnier)

“The Congress” (Ari Folman)

“The Dance of Reality” (Alejandro Jodorwosky)

“L’escale” (Kaveh Bakhtiari)

“La Fille du 14 juillet” (Antonin Peretjako)

“Henri” (Yolande Morau)

“Iloilo” (Anthony Chen)

“Jodorowsky’s Dune” (Frank Pavich)

“Last Day on Mars” (Ruairi Robinson)

“Magic Magic” (Sebastian Silva)

“Me Myself and Mum” (Guillaume Gallienne)

“On the Job” (Erik Matti)

“The Selfish Giant” (Clio Barnard)

“The Summer of the Flying Fish” (Marcela Said)

“Tip Top” (Serge Bozon)

“Ugly” (Anurag Kashyap)

“Un voyageur” (Marcel Ophuls)

“We Are What We Are” (Jim Mickle)

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox