Back to IndieWire

2013 Student Academy Award Winners Announced

2013 Student Academy Award Winners Announced

The winners have been announced for the 2013 Student Academy Awards. Thirteen students from nine US colleges and universities as well as three students from foreign universities have been selected as winners. Full list below.

The student filmmakers will be brought to L.A. for a week of industry activities, culminating in an awards ceremony on June 8 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theatre, hosted by Bob Saget.

The winners are (listed alphabetically by film title):


“Bottled Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College

“The Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts

“Zug,” Perry Janes, University of Michigan



“Dia de los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham,
Ringling College of Art and Design

“Peck Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and

“Will,” Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts



“Every Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,”
Rachel Loube, School of Visual Arts

“A Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, University of Southern

“Win or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University



“Josephine and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, University of
Southern California

“Ol’ Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin

“Un Mundo para Raúl (A World for Raúl),” Mauro Mueller,
Columbia University


Foreign Film

“Miss Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School,
United Kingdom

“Parvaneh,” Talkhon Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts,

“Tweesprong (Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, RITS School of
Arts, Erasmus College Brussels, Belgium

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox