Back to IndieWire

2013 Student Academy Awards Finalists Announced

2013 Student Academy Awards Finalists Announced

38 students from US colleges and nine from foreign universities have been selected as finalists in AMPAS’ Student Academy Awards Competition. Winners will be brought to LA for industry activities and workshops in anticipation of the awards ceremony on June 8 at the Academy’s Samuel Goldwyn Theater.

Finalists listed by film genre below.


the Spheres,” Meghdad Asadi Lari, Rochester Institute of Technology

Up,” Rafael Cortina, Occidental College

Hyungjik,” Hyungjik Lee, Florida State University

Compositor,” John Mattiuzzi, School of Visual Arts

Not Found,” Maria Sequeira, University of Southern California

Pirate of Love,” Sara Gunnarsdottir, California Institute of the Arts

Perry Janes, University of Michigan


& Potatoes,” Chris Lam and Eunsoo Jeong, San Jose State University

“Dia de
los Muertos,” Lindsey St. Pierre and Ashley Graham, Ringling College of
Art and Design

Ethan Clarke, California Institute of the Arts

a Wish,” Heejin Kim, School of Visual Arts

Pocketed,” Kevin Herron, Ringling College of Art and Design

Emily Buchanan and Esther Parobek, Ringling College of Art and Design

I Breathe,” Sang Ho Lee, School of Visual Arts

Robert Kornstein, New York University

Eusong Lee, California Institute of the Arts


Battle of the Jazz Guitarist,” Mark Columbus, University of California,
Los Angeles

Tuesday: A Portrait of The New Yorker Cartoonists,” Rachel Loube, School
of Visual Arts

Business,” Laura Green, Stanford University

Girls,” Jordan Theresa Salvatoriello, Emerson College

Second Chance,” David Aristizabal, University of Southern California

the Fire,” Eunice Lau, New York University

of Tibet,” Russell O. Bush, University of Texas at Austin

or Lose,” Daniel Koehler, Elon University

Workshop,” Amitabh Joshi and Erik Spink, School of Visual Arts


Bruce Li, New York University

Contagion,” Joshua Smooha, Florida State University

Thomas (Hyungkyun) Kim, New York University

and the Roach,” Jonathan Langager, University of Southern California

Tomas Vengris, American Film Institute

Midwife’s Husband,” Deja Bernhardt, University of Texas at Austin

Daddy,” Brian Schwarz, University of Texas at Austin

Asaph Polonsky, American Film Institute

Mundo para Raul (A World for Raul),” Mauro Mueller, Columbia University


(Liquidation),” Matthias Zuder, Hamburg Media School, Germany

Sverige i Tiden (King of Sweden),” Jonas Westbom, Stockholm Academy of
Dramatic Arts, Sweden

Miklas Manneke, AFDA The South African School of Motion Picture Medium and

Performance, South Africa

Library of Burned Books,” Alasdair Beckett-King, London Film School,
United Kingdom

Todd,” Kristina Yee, National Film and Television School, United Kingdom

Jakub Kouril, FAMU, Film and TV School of Academy of Performing Arts in Prague,
Czech Republic

Hamzavi, Zurich University of the Arts, Switzerland

Guard a Mountain,” Izer Aliu, The Norwegian Filmschool, Norway

(Crossroads),” Wouter Bouvijn, Rits School of Arts, Erasmus College
Brussels, Belgium



Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Awards and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox