Back to IndieWire

‘Blue is the Warmest Color’ Wins the Palme d’Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival; Berenice Bejo and Bruce Dern Win Acting Honors

'Blue is the Warmest Color' Wins the Palme d'Or at the 2013 Cannes Film Festival; Berenice Bejo and Bruce Dern Win Acting Honors

Abdellatif Kechiche’s coming of age drama “Blue is the Warmest Color” (go HERE for our glowing review) has won the coveted Palme d’Or at the 2013 Festival de Cannes. The film, which drew a lot of attention during the festival for its long and explicit lesbian sex scenes, won over Joel and Ethan Coen’s folk music comedy “Inside Llewyn Davis,” which took home the Grand Prix, James Gray’s “The Immigrant,” which went away empty handed, as well as the film many pundits had pegged as the winner, Kore-Eda Hirokazu’s family drama “Life Father, Like Son,” which was awarded the Prix du Jury. Best Director went to Mexican director Amat Escalante for his shocking “Heli.”

READ MORE: Indiewire Interviews Best Actress Winner Berenice Bejo

In the acting categories, there was a bit of an upset with the Best Actor honor going to Bruce Dern for Alexander Payne’s “Nebraska” over popular favorite Michael Douglas, who many festivalgoers felt played Liberace to campy perfection in Steven Soderbergh’s “Behind the Candelabra.” The Best Actress prize was also something of a surprise, going to “The Past” star Berenice Bejo over “Blue is the Warmest Color” breakout Adéle Exarchopoulos. However, Exarchopoulos and co-star Lea Seydoux shared the Palme with their film’s director and delivered tearful acceptance speeches at the ceremony’s closing.

Below is the full list of winners.

The Full List of the 2013 Festival de Cannes Winners:

Palme d’Or:
“Blue is the Warmest Color,” Director: Abdellatif Kechiche

Grand Prix:
“Inside Llewyn Davis,” Director: Joel and Ethan Coen

Prix de la Mise en Scene (best director):
Amat Escalante, “Heli”

Prix du Scenario (best screenplay): “A Touch of Sin,” Writer: Jia Zhangke

Camera d’Or (best first feature):
“Ilo Ilo,” Director: Anthony Chen

Prix du Jury (jury prize): “Like Father, Like Son,” Director: Kore-Eda Hirokazu

Prix d’interpretation feminine (best actress): Berenice Bejo, “The Past”

Prix d’interpretation masculine (best actor):
Bruce Dern, “Nebraska”

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox