Back to IndieWire

Columbia To Release ’20 Feet From Stardom: Music From The Motion Picture’ 6/18 (Track List)

Columbia To Release '20 Feet From Stardom: Music From The Motion Picture' 6/18 (Track List)

Columbia Records has announced that it will release 20 Feet From Stardom: Music From The Motion Picture, the soundtrack from the compelling new documentary feature from award-winning director Morgan Neville on June 18.  

20 Feet From Stardom shines the spotlight on the untold true stories of primarily African American backup singers behind some of the greatest musical legends of the 21st century.  

The album will be available digitally on June 11 via all digital service providers and is currently available for pre-order at Amazon

Among the songs included on the album is a new recording of the classic song Lean On Me, featuring Darlene Love, as well as an original song, Desperation performed by The Voice finalist Judith Hill

The iconic Rolling Stones song Gimme Shelter, is performed by Merry Clayton, a rare recording from her 1971 debut album of the same name.

Along with rare archival footage and a peerless soundtrack, the film boasts intimate interviews with Bruce SpringsteenStevie WonderMick Jagger and Sting to name just a few. However, these world-famous figures take a backseat to the diverse array of backup singers whose lives and stories take center stage in the film. 

Although these singers are usually relegated to the margins, and few, if any, become household names, their work has defined countless songs that remain in our hearts and collective consciousness. 20 Feet from Stardom juxtaposes the interviews with industry legends and the relative unknowns who support them like Darlene Love Merry Clayton Lisa Fischer , and Judith Hillas they illuminate the art of melding their own distinct voices with lead vocals and reveal their desires for careers as solo artists.  It is a celebration of the voices from the edge, which brought shape and style to the soundtracks of our lives. The film traces the backup singers’ history from the Phil Spector produced pop tunes and soul-inspired British Explosion acts ( Joe Cocker , the Rolling Stones) of the 1960s, to their reversal of fortune when the recording industry changed in the 1990s, and into today. Filmmaker Morgan Neville ‘s unprecedented look at the moving personal journeys of these normally uncelebrated artists pays tribute to their indelible role in popular music.

The film is set to open in select theatres on June 14 before expanding in the weeks to follow.

Here’s the track listing for the film’s soundtrack:

  1. “Walk On the Wild Side” performed by Lou Reed
  2. “Slippery People” performed by Talking Heads
  3. “Nobody’s Fault But Mine” performed by Merry Clayton featuring Oren Waters Judith Hill Tata Vega and Charlotte Crossley
  4. “He’s a Rebel” performed by the Crystals
  5. “Space Captain” performed by Joe Cocker from the film “Mad Dogs and Englishmen”
  6. “Gimme Shelter” performed by Merry Clayton
  7. “Sure On This Shining Night” performed by Lisa Fischer
  8. “Let’s Make The World A Better Place” performed by Tata Vega and Judith Hill
  9. “Young Americans” performed by Davie Bowie
  10. “Southern Man” performed by Merry Clayton
  11. “Desperation” performed by Judith Hill
  12. “Fine Fine Boy (with intro rehearsal)” performed by Darlene Love
  13. “Lean On Me” performed by Darlene Love featuring Lisa Fischer Jo Lawry , and Judith Hill

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox