Back to IndieWire

2013 Los Angeles Film Festival Jury Announced

2013 Los Angeles Film Festival Jury Announced

The Los Angeles Film Festival has announced its jurors for the 2013 fest, running June 13-23 in downtown L.A. Jury members include directors Sean Baker (“Starlet”) and Clay Tweel (“The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters”) and producers Harry Lennix (“Man of Steel”) and Lesley Chilcott (“Waiting for Superman,” “An Inconvenient Truth”). Full list below.

The Narrative Competition Jury consists of Film
Independent Spirit Award-winning producer Gina Kwon (“Me and You and Everyone We
Know,” “Chuck & Buck”), Spirit Award-winning director Sean Baker (“Starlet,” “Take Out,” “Prince of Broadway”) and actor-producer Harry Lennix (“Man of Steel,” “Titus,” the upcoming NBC series “The Blacklist”).

The Documentary Competition Jury is comprised of the
2010 LA Film Fest Grand Jury award-winning director Clay Tweel (“Make Believe,” “The King of Kong: A Fistful of Quarters”), award-winning producer Lesley
(“Waiting For Superman”, “An Inconvenient Truth”), and New York Times
contributing culture writer and former film and television critic Carina

Los Angeles Film Critics Association Vice President Tim
, director and author Sandi Tan (“The Black Isle”) and Independent
Spirit-nominated writer and director David Fenster (“Trona,” “Pincus”), round out
the shorts jury.

The competition and audience award winners will be announced
on Sunday, June 23.

Cash awards are given out in the following categories:
DIRECTV Jury Award for Best Narrative Feature ($10,000), DIRECTV Jury Award for
Best Documentary Feature ($10,000), Best Animated or Experimental Short
($1500), Best Documentary Short ($1500) and Best Narrative Short ($1500). The
jury also hands out an award for Best Outstanding Performance in a Narrative

The Audience Awards are presented in the following
categories: Narrative Feature, Documentary Feature, International Feature,
Short Film and Music Video.

LAFF is a qualifying festival in all categories for the Film
Independent Spirit Awards and for the Narrative and Animated Short Film
categories at the Academy Awards.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Festivals and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox