You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

‘Inside Llewyn Davis’ Soundtrack Features Unreleased Bob Dylan Song, Folk Covers Sung By The Cast & More

'Inside Llewyn Davis' Soundtrack Features Unreleased Bob Dylan Song, Folk Covers Sung By The Cast & More

If there is any movie that walked out of the Cannes Film Festival this year as the most beloved, I-can’t-wait-to-see-it-again crowd pleaser, it was the Coen Brothers’ “Inside Llewyn Davis.” The tale of a week in the life of one young folk singer just trying to make it, keeping his head above water and dignity intact, is a beautifully melancholy love letter not just to the ’60s folk music scene, but for anyone anywhere struggling along with whatever artistic endeavor simply because it’s the only thing they believe in. Needless to say, the movie is a great soundtrack, and the details have arrived early about what you’ll be able to get your hands on in just a few months.

Nonesuch Records will issue the Coens and T. Bone Burnett-produced soundtrack to “Inside Llewyn Davis,” and Bob Dylan fans will want to take note. The set will include an unreleased version of “Farewell” recorded by Dylan during sessions for his landmark album The Times They Are A-Changin’. Outside of that, the bulk of the soundtrack is made up of traditional folk songs, excellently performed by the cast of Oscar Isaac, Justin Timberlake and Carey Mulligan, with Marcus Mumford and The Punch Brothers lending support on a couple of tunes. And it’s all capped off by a song from Dave Van Ronk, the folk legend who inspired the movie in the first place. 

The soundtrack will hit stores on September 17th, and if you pre-order at the Nonesuch site now, you’ll get an exclusive 11” x 7” print from the film. “Inside Llewyn Davis” hits theaters on December 6th. Full details below.

“Inside Llewyn Davis” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. Hang Me, Oh Hang Me
(Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett)
Oscar Isaac

2. Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)
(Traditional; Arranged by Marcus Mumford, Oscar Isaac, and T Bone Burnett)
Oscar Isaac and Marcus Mumford

3. The Last Thing on My Mind
(Tom Paxton)
Stark Sands with Punch Brothers

4. Five Hundred Miles
(Hedy West)
Justin Timberlake, Carey Mulligan, and Stark Sands

5. Please Mr. Kennedy
(Ed Rush, George Cromarty, T Bone Burnett, Justin Timberlake, Joel Coen, and Ethan Coen)
Justin Timberlake, Oscar Isaac, and Adam Driver

6. Green, Green Rocky Road
(Len Chandler and Robert Kaufman)
Oscar Isaac

7. The Death of Queen Jane
(Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac and T Bone Burnett)
Oscar Isaac

8. The Roving Gambler
John Cohen with The Down Hill Strugglers

9. The Shoals of Herring
(Ewan MacColl)
Oscar Isaac with Punch Brothers

10. The Auld Triangle
(Brendan Behan)
Chris Thile, Chris Eldridge, Marcus Mumford, Justin Timberlake, and Gabe Witcher

11. The Storms Are on the Ocean
(A.P. Carter)
Nancy Blake

12. Fare Thee Well (Dink’s Song)
(Traditional; Arranged by Oscar Isaac)
Oscar Isaac

13. Farewell *
(Bob Dylan)
Bob Dylan

14. Green, Green Rocky Road
(Len Chandler & Robert Kaufman)
Dave Van Ronk

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox