You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Listen: Exclusive Track From Nathan Whitehead’s Score For ‘The Purge’

Listen: Exclusive Track From Nathan Whitehead's Score For 'The Purge'

This Friday, a slightly different kind of summer movie hits theaters with Universal‘s “The Purge.” The film finds Ethan Hawke reteaming with James DeMonaco (the writer of the remake of “The Assault Of Precinct 13,” director of “Staten Island“) for a grimy thriller produced by genre powerhouses Blumhouse and Platinum Dunes. Instead of explosions, spandex and CGI, this film boasts a pretty intriguing premise: in the future, there’s no more crime…except on one annual night of no consequences mayhem known as The Purge. Hawke plays the head of a family who batten down the hatches each year to ride out the evening of terror in the streets, but find themselves fighting for their lives when someone from the outside gets in…

Helping to set the mood of tension and dread is composer Nathan Whitehead, and today we have an exclusive track from his thirty song score for the film. Whitehead has worked on a variety of Hollywood projects including “Battleship,” “Transformers: Dark Of The Moon” and “Your Highness.” And here he seems to be bring an effective bit of moodiness and creepiness, with “You’re Number One” building the atmosphere with piano and strings before rising to final crescendo.

“The Purge” soundtrack will hit iTunes on June 4th with the film landing on June 7th. Listen below, followed by the full artwork and tracklisting.

“The Purge” Soundtrack Tracklisting

1. You’re Number One
2. Let’s Growl
3. Timmy
4. Charlie’s Secret Room
5. Lockdown
6. Family
7. I Came To See Your Father
8. Emergency Services Will Be Suspended
9. This Night Saved Our Country
10. The Purge Is Working
11. Who Needs A Car On A Boat?
12. Zoey’s Gone
13. Be Careful, OK?
14. You Need to See This
15. Toodaloo, Sandins
16. Charlie Watches
17. James And The Stranger
18. That Will Be Thee
19. There Are People Outside
20. I Am Not Dying Tonight
21. Nothing Is Ever Going To Be OK Again
22. I Bid Thee Farewell
23. Are You Hurt?
24. Release The Beast
25. Your Soul Has Been Cleansed
26. Neighbors
27. Thank You
28. Ours, Not Theirs
29. Blessed Be The New Founding Fathers
30. No More Killing Tonight

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox