You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

San Francisco Film Society Selects Four New Filmmakers for Its FilmHouse Residency Program

San Francisco Film Society Selects Four New Filmmakers for Its FilmHouse Residency Program

The San Francisco Film Society announced the recipients of its FilmHouse residency program today, a center offering free office space and project development for selected filmmakers. The four lucky individuals are Grainger David, a South Carolina native whose short film, “The Chair,” was nominated for the Palme d’Or at the 2012 Cannes Film Festival; Gerard McMurray and Ephraim Walker, two USC graduates who worked as associate producer and production consultant, respectively, on this year’s Sundance hit, “Fruitvale Station”; and Leah Wolchok, a San Francisco-based filmmaker whose short films have screened at festivals worldwide. 

The new FilmHouse Residencies begin in August and last 12 months, though the filmmakers could have chosen to stay for half that time if preferable. Made possible by support from the Kenneth Rainin Foundation and the San Francisco Film Commission, the program features guest lecturers, workshops, screenings, networking events and the free office space to all its residents (see below). Filmmakers can also receive individual project consultation with SFFS Executive Director Ted Hope. Hope has also produced “Martha Marcy May Marlene,” “21 Grams,” and “In the Bedroom,” among other fine films over the course of his 26-year career. 

Interested filmmakers can apply for the next residency program in October for a February 2014 start date. More information on the program can be found at the San Francisco Film Society website.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: Toolkit and tagged , , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox