You will be redirected back to your article in seconds
Back to IndieWire

Academy Adds Ten New Governors Including Studio Execs Pascal and Utley and Documentarian Gibney; Who’s Next President?

Academy Adds Ten New Governors Including Studio Execs Pascal and Utley and Documentarian Gibney; Who's Next President?

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences has added ten new governors to its Board of Governors. They have also reelected eight previous governors and one previous governor is coming back. Each of 16 branches votes for three governors who can only serve three consecutive three-year terms. The board is bigger, from 43 to 48, with the addition of the costume branch and three reps for Hair and Makeup, instead of one. 

The first-time governors are Judianna Makovsky and Deborah Nadoolman, representing the Costume Designers Branch; Rick Carter and Jan Pascale, Designers Branch; Alex Gibney, Documentary; Lynzee Klingman, Film Editors; Amy Pascal, Executives; Kathryn Blondell and Bill Corso, Makeup Artists and Hairstylists; and Nancy Utley, Public Relations.

The reelected governors are Ed Begley, Jr., Actors Branch; John Bailey, Cinematographers; Kathryn Bigelow, Directors; Charles Fox, Music; Jon Bloom, Short Films and Feature Animation; Curt Behlmer, Sound; Richard Edlund, Visual Effects; and Robin Swicord, Writers.

Documentarian Alex Gibney beat out Michael Moore, who put through radical changes in the documentary rules. Producer Mark Johnson is returning to the board after a hiatus, which presumably means he’ll reinsert himself on the foreign film committee. The board now has 14 women, four more than before. Pascal marks the first woman studio head to be on the board since Mary Pickford of United Artists. 
Two members of the public relations branch, Cheryl Boone Isaacs and Rob Friedman, are ironically both top contenders for the AMPAS presidency slot that will be left vacant on July 30 when Hawk Koch leaves after a one-year term. They held the posts of first vice president and board treasurer, respectively.

On that day, the new board will vote on who should be the next president. Studio publicity veteran Boone Isaacs, who is close to popular ex-AMPAS president Sidney Ganis, would become the Academy’s first woman and first African American president. 
For his part, Friedman, a former studio executive at Warner Bros. and Paramount, is co-chairman of Lionsgate motion pictures. Lionsgate acquired his and partner Patrick Wachsberger’s Summit Entertainment, home of the “Twilight” series. He has a demanding full-time job, and the Academy presidency has become more time-consuming over the years. We’ll see which way they go. 
Among the governors not up for reelection and leaving the board are actors Annette Bening and Tom Hanks, costume designer Jeffrey Kurland, directors Lisa Cholodenko and Michael Mann, documentarians Michael Apted and Rob Epstein, executives Dick Cook and Robert Rehme, editor Mark L. Goldblatt, producers Gale Anne Hurd and Kathleen Kennedy, animator John Lasseter, and writers Bill Condon and Phil Robinson.

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox