Back to IndieWire

IFP Reveals Date for 23rd Annual Gotham Awards Ceremony and Adds Two New Categories

IFP Reveals Date for 23rd Annual Gotham Awards Ceremony and Adds Two New Categories

Established in 1991, the Gotham Independent Film Awards Ceremony celebrates the talent behind America’s best independent feature films. The Independent Filmmaker Project announced today that the 23rd Annual Gotham Awards will take place at Cipriani Wall Street in New York on December 2nd. For its 23rd edition, the Gothams will also introduce two new competitive categories: Best Actress and Best Actor.
Each year IFP chooses a jury of innovators and icons in documentary and feature film directing, producing, cinematography, and acting to bestow the Gotham’s competitive awards and grant critical recognition to independent films. The Gotham Audience Award allows film enthusiasts around the world to vote for a winner online. For the third year, IFP will present the Calvin Klein Spotlight on Women Filmmakers ‘Live the Dream’ grant, a $25,000 cash award for an alumnus of IFP’s Independent Filmmaker Labs. In addition to its awards and grants, the Gothams also select individuals to pay tribute to. Last year’s recipients included David O. Russell, Matt Damon, and Marion Cotillard. The 2013 tributes will be announced in the coming weeks. 

“This has been a rich year for independent films – both those films out now and others on the release horizon,” said Joana Vicente, IFP Executive Director. “It promises to be an exciting season, and as the home of independent film, it is IFP’s goal to celebrate these projects and the artists’ work behind each film, helping to bring them to the attention of wider audiences.”

Submissions are now being accepted in six of the competitive categories: Best Feature, Best Documentary, Best Actor, Best Actress, Breakthrough Actor, and the Bingham Ray Breakthrough Director Award. The deadline for submissions is September 20thApplications are available at http://gotham.ifp.org. Nominees will be announced on October 24th, 2013, and winners will be honored at the ceremony at Cipriani Wall Street on December 2nd

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , ,

Get The Latest IndieWire Alerts And Newsletters Delivered Directly To Your Inbox