Back to IndieWire

The Academy Sends Out 276 Invites

The Academy Sends Out 276 Invites

Last week, the Academy sent out 276 new invitations to join its ranks, the highest amount in recent years.  (178 were invited in 2011; 135 in 2010; 134 in 2009; and 105 in 2008.)  What you will notice from the list of invitations is the focus on diversity which is something the Academy clearly had to deal with since its membership was very old and very white and very male.

It’s great that the Academy is focused on diversity but there are several things to note.

There are only 2 women invited into the directing branch — Ava DuVernay and Catherine Hardwicke. If you will notice, Ava DuVernay was invited into both the directing and the writing branch.  (To get invited to be a member you need to be recommended)  It is my hopes that she will pick the directing branch, because that branch is desperate for more women, and let’s just say that I would love to be at the first meeting of the directing branch that Ms. DuVernay attends.  Those guys are not going to know what hit them.  Also, I would say that if you really want more women directors (which I’m not sure is the case) one could make an argument for including Agnes Varda, Tina Gordon Chism and Sarah Polley in that branch rather than where they were nominated.

The list of women (Please forgive if we made mistakes.  We make an attempt to figure out the gender neutral names.  Sometimes we get it wrong.)

Miriam Colon 
Rosario Dawson 
Kimberly Elise 
Rebecca Hall 
Milla Jovovich 
Lucy Liu 
Jennifer Lopez 
Alma Martinez 
Emily Mortimer 
Sandra Oh 
Paula Patton 
Emmanuelle Riva 

 Agnes Godard 
Sophie de Rakoff 

Lori Balton 
Judy Becker 
Tracey A. Doyle 
Anna Lynch-Robinson
Maria Nay 

Ava DuVernay* 
Catherine Hardwicke 

Rebecca Cammisa 
Christine Choy 
Bonni Cohen 
Miriam Cutler 
Andrea Nix Fine 
Sean Fine 
Lauren Greenfield 
Vivien Hillgrove 
Heddy Honigmann 
Kim Longinotto 
Jehane Noujaim
Sharmeen Obaid-Chinoy 
Elise Pearlstein 
Veronica Selver 
Ricki Stern 
Annie Sundberg 
Renee Tajima-Pena 
Agnès Varda 
Pamela Yates 
Amy Ziering 


Holly Bario
Lynn Harris
Hannah Minghella
Angela Morrison

Film Editors
Mary Jo Markey 

Makeup Artists and Hairstylists
Luisa Abel 
Anne Aulenta-Spira 
Kay Georgiou 
Bernadette Mazur 
Kim Santantonio 
Lisa Tomblin

Lisa Westcott 

Victoria Alonso
Jackie Burch
Susie Figgis
Lori Furie
Andy Gill
Mindy Marin
Jeanne McCarthy
Michelle Satter
Cindy Tolan

Jennifer Dunnington 
Siedah Garrett 

Finola Dwyer 
Julie Lynn 
Margaret Menegoz 
Andrea Sperling 

Public Relations
Rachel Cadden
Theresa Cross
Julie Fontaine
Anne Globe

Short Films and Feature Animation
Danielle Feinberg 
Vicky Jenson 

Bobbi Banks
Ann Scibelli 

Visual Effects 1 out of 24
Wendy Rogers 

Jessica Bendinger 
Tina Gordon Chism 
Julie Delpy 
Lena Dunham 
Ava DuVernay* 
Sarah Polley 

Lorrie Bartlett
Sandra Marsh
Kimberly Snyder

Full list

Sign Up: Stay on top of the latest breaking film and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletters here.

This Article is related to: News and tagged , , ,